Chad Mitchell Mighty Day: The Chad Mitchell Trio Reunion

Mighty Day: The Chad Mitchell Trio Reunion
4 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  35QHR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 22, 1995
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Folk Era Records


  • 1.Mighty Day
  • 2.Four Strong Winds
  • 3.Can't Help But Wonder Where I'm Bound
  • 4.Great Historical Bum, The (The Bragging Song)
  • 5.Fyve-Io
  • 6.The John Birch Society
  • 7.Johnnie
  • 8.The Ballad of the Greenland Whalers
  • 9.Which Hat Shall I Wear?
  • 10.The Sinking of the Reuben James
  • 11.African Song, An
  • 12.Maladyozhenaya
  • 13.Lizzie Borden
  • 14.For Baby (For Bobbie)
  • 15.Last Night I Had the Strangest Dream

Product Description:

The Chad Mitchell Trio: Chad Mitchell, Mike Kobluk, Joe frazier.
Includes liner notes by Tom Paxton.
Liner Note Author: Tom Paxton.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Michael Kobluk; John Denver; Paul Prestopino; Chad Mitchell.
If there were any liner notes to this album, they might explain that this is a recording of a reunion concert that the Chad Mitchell Trio taped for PBS in 1987, though the copyright date is 1992 and this audio version was issued in 1996. In any case, the trio proves to be in good voice and good humor after 22 years apart, singing many of the songs that its audiences loved in the early '60s, including "The John Birch Society" and "Lizzie Borden." Since many of the Chad Mitchell Trio's original recordings were also live performances, they have a better right than many veteran acts to re-record their well-known numbers. The added attraction here is the appearance on one track of John Denver, who replaced Mitchell in the group in 1965. After the Chad Mitchell Trio's recordings had been out of print for decades, the year 1996 brought new CD compilations from Vanguard and Varese Vintage that better represent the group than this later one. But that doesn't keep it from being an enjoyable show. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Chad Mitchell

Product Info

  • UPC: 045507142228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)