Chad Mitchell Reunion, Part 2 (Live)

Reunion, Part 2 (Live)
4 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $15.28
CYBER WEEK SALE: $13.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $3.63 (21% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  35QHJ
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Premium Shipping

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Folk Era Records


  • 1.Waves on the Sea
  • 2.Hang on the Bell, Nellie
  • 3.The Whistling Gypsy
  • 4.The Unfortunate Man
  • 5.Tell Old Bill
  • 6.Tail Toddle
  • 7.What Did You Learn in School Today?
  • 8.Ronnie's Boys
  • 9.The Draft Dodger Rag
  • 10.The Virgin Mary
  • 11.Gorpus Morpus - (TRUE instrumental)
  • 12.Nicaragua Song
  • 13.Adios Mi Corazon
  • 14.Brother, Can You Spare a Dime?
  • 15.The Marvelous Toy
  • 16.Intro by John Denver
  • 17.Let Us Begin (What Are We Making Weapons for?)

Product Description:

Personnel: Chad Mitchell (vocals); Joseph Frazier, Michael Kobluk, John Denver (vocals); Paul Prestopino (guitar, mandolin); Davie "Jake" Ander (guitar).
Recording information: Spirit Square Center for the Arts, Charlotte, NC (1987).
Arrangers: Joseph Frazier; Michael Kobluk; Milton Okun; Chad Mitchell.
Like its predecessor, the Chad Mitchell Trio's Reunion, Part 2 is drawn from a concert given by Chad Mitchell, Mike Kobluk, and Joe Frazier at the Spirit Square Center for the Arts in Charlotte, N.C., in 1987, their first appearance together since the 1960s. The earlier album, Mighty Day: The Chad Mitchell Trio Reunion, contained performances of most of the trio's better-known songs, but there are a few gems left over, notably a cover of Tom Paxton's "The Marvelous Toy" (a chart hit for the group) and a rendition of the Depression-era standard "Brother, Can You Spare a Dime?," plus a couple of nice surprises: "Barry's Boys," the trio's parody of 1964 right-wing presidential candidate Barry Goldwater, gets updated into a parody of 1987 right-wing President Ronald Reagan in "Ronnie's Boys"; and Bruce Cockburn's "Nicaragua" makes an appropriate and timely (for 1987) addition to the trio's repertoire. As on Mighty Day, former group member John Denver makes a cameo appearance. But here, he gives a political speech and sings a recently written political song, "Let Us Begin (What Are We Making Weapons For)," which has the odd effect of exiling the trio from the last ten minutes of its own album. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Chad Mitchell

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 120,817
  • UPC: 045507143829
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Folk genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Extended Holiday Hours: Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)