Baltimore Consort Custer LaRue Sings The Daemon Lover

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.5
6 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $16.99
Your Price: $15.29
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  DRN 90174

CD Details

  • Released: October 9, 2007
  • Label: Dorian Recordings


  • 1.House carpenter, The (The daemon lover)
  • 2.Binnorie (The twa sisters), folk song
  • 3.Farewell to Tarwathie
  • 4.Fare ye well, lovely Nancy
  • 5.Lord Ronald (Airds of Scotland, ca. 1830)
  • 6.The Cuckoo
  • 7.Geordie
  • 8.The fox went out on a chilly night
  • 9.Queen Jane
  • 10.Sprig of Thyme
  • 11.Edward
  • 12.Ash Grove, The (The Master Has Come), song (a.k.a. "Llwyn onn")
  • 13.Early One Morning, folk song
  • 14.Early One Morning, folk song
  • 15.Jesus born in Bethn'y, Christmas jig
  • 16.Jesus born in Bethn'y, Christmas jig
  • 17.The Carnal and the crane
  • 18.The Carnal and the crane

Product Description:

Personnel: Custer LaRue (vocals).
The Baltimore Consort: Ronn McFarlane (lute), Mark Cudek (cittern, baroque guitar, plucked bass viol), Mary Anne Ballard (treble viol, bass viol), Larry Lipkis (bass viol, gemshorn), Chris Norman (wooden flute, cauld wind pipes, drum).
Engineers: Craig D. Dory, Douglas Brown, David H. Walters, Brian C. Peters.
Recorded at Troy Savings Bank Music Hall, Troy, New York in May, 1992. Includes liner notes by Mary Anne Ballard and Custer LaRue.
CUSTER LARUE SINGS THE DAEMON LOVER contains traditional folk songs and ballads from England, Scotland and America. Also includes a 20 page booklet with an introduction by Custer Larue, biographies of both Custer Larue and The Baltimore Consort, song histories and bibliographies as well as track-by-track annotations.
Personnel: Custer LaRue (vocals); Mark Cudek (cittern); Ronn McFarlane (lute); Chris Norman (flute, drums); Larry Lipkis (gemshorn).
Liner Note Authors: Custer LaRue; Mary Anne Ballard .
Recording information: Troy Savings Bank Music Hall, Troy, NY (05/1992).
Editor: Douglas Brown.
Photographer: Mark Hamilton .
Just about everything that Custer LaRue performs turns out beautifully, and that's certainly the case again with her 1993 release, The Daemon Lover. LaRue's glorious soprano is in fine form on the title song (which may be better known to some as "The House Carpenter") and, indeed, all throughout the album. From "Fare Ye Well, Lovely Nancy" to "Queen Jane" to "The Ash Grove," it's sure to please fans of folk ballads with its authentic historical sound, and is definitely recommended. ~ Murrday Fisher

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Baltimore Consort

Product Info:

  • UPC: 053479017420
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item