Jonathan Edwards Jonathan Edwards

Jonathan Edwards
33 ratings
Only 8 copies left
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  VRR8
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: April 2, 1991
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: Atco

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 11/25/71, p.60
"...a fine introduction and well worth your attention..."


  • 1.Everybody Knows Her
  • 2.Cold Snow
  • 3.Athens County
  • 4.Dusty Morning
  • 5.Emma
  • 6.Shanty
  • 7.Sunshine
  • 8.The King
  • 9.Don't Cry Blue
  • 10.Jesse
  • 11.Sometimes
  • 12.Train of Glory

Product Description:

Personnel: Jonathan Edwards (vocals, guitar, harp, harmonica); Eric Lillequist (vocals, guitar); Eric Lilljequist (guitar); Bill Keith (steel guitar, banjo); Stuart Schulman (violin, keyboards); Jeff Labes (keyboards); Richard Adelman (drums).
Recording information: Intermedia Sound Inc., Boston, MA.
After a stint in the Boston-based combo Sugar Creek, Jonathan Edwards began his solo career with this 1971 self-titled outing. His brand of homespun tunes were perfectly matched to his emotive and soaring tenor. While he penned a majority of the album's dozen selections, Edwards reached back to former bandmates Malcolm McKinney -- author of both the upbeat lovesick lament "Don't Cry Blue" as well as the intimate "Sometimes" -- and Joe Dolce, co-writer of the happy, traveling "Athens County." But it wasn't those standout tracks that would score Edwards his first and only Top Ten hit. The acoustic and optimistic "Sunshine" struck a chord with listeners in the fall of 1971, climbing all the way to a lofty number four on the Pop Singles survey before ultimately becoming a staple of oldies radio. (The self-affirming defiance in the chorus "He can't even run his own life/I'll be damned if he'll run mine," undoubtedly touched upon the remaining vestiges of the 'Us vs. Them' mentality that permeated the concurrent generation.) The effort also includes several other excellent offerings, such as the pastoral mid-tempo "Cold Snow," with Stuart Schulman's hypnotic violin developing a hauntingly beautiful counter-refrain. "Emma" is a gorgeous ballad, sporting some affective rural-flavored piano licks from Jeff Labes. The celebratory "Shanty" wails as Edwards' harmonica brings a party atmosphere to the frolicking and energetic melody. There is a perceptible darkness running through the minor chord progressions in "The King," as Labes interjects a definite sense of drama complementing Edwards penetrating vocals. Of equal note is the guitar work of Eric Lilljequist, who provides a fuller sound in support of Edwards. The concluding "Train of Glory" serves up a final opportunity for a rousing round of the artist's emphatic mouth harp [read: harmonica] as he blows with the passion of an old-fashioned gospel revival. ~ Lindsay Planer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 33 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Jonathan Edwards

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,751
  • UPC: 075679031020
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)