Eric Clapton Clapton Chronicles: The Best of Eric Clapton

Clapton Chronicles: The Best of Eric Clapton
1 rating
List Price: $37.99
Price: $34.19
You Save: $3.80 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GYVR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 30, 1999
  • Label: Wea International

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 12/99, p.156
3 stars out of 5 - "...There are 2 new songs entice the completists....with big-shot Babyface, [Clapton] gracefully updates his trademark sound. And if playing the blues is about expressing pain, then 'Tears In Heaven' the genuine article."
Mojo (Publisher) - 11/99, p.120
"...the time of craftsmanlike albums and Albert Hall residencies, of quietly expensive suits and unassuming legendhood.....stuff to admire and even enjoy....a slow, measured transition from rage to resignation."


  • 1.Blue Eyes Blue
  • 2.Change the World
  • 3.My Father's Eyes
  • 4.Tears in Heaven
  • 5.Layla (Unplugged)
  • 6.Pretending
  • 7.Bad Love
  • 8.Before You Acuse Me
  • 9.It's in the Way That You Use It
  • 10.Forever Man
  • 11.Running on Face (Unplugge
  • 12.She's Waiting
  • 13.River of Tears
  • 14.I Get Lost
  • 15.Wonderful Tonight
  • 16.Hard Times

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Eric Clapton (vocals, guitar, dobro); Tim Pierce, Darryl Crooks, Robert Cray, Steve Lukather (guitar); Michael Brecker (saxophone); Jon Faddis, Randy Brecker (trumpet); Joe Sample, Greg Phillinganes (piano); Greg Curtis (keyboards, background vocals); Jamie Muhoberac (keyboards); Nathan East (bass, background vocals); Phil Collins (drums, background vocals); Steve Ferrone, Steve Gadd, Jeff Porcaro (drums); Luis Conte, Mike Fasano (percussion); Bumpy, Greg Curtis (programming); Chyna Gordon, Chaka Khan (background vocals).
Producers include: Rob Cavallo, Babyface, Eric Clapton, Russ Titleman, Tom Dowd.
Engineers: Allen Sides, Brad Gilderman, Alan Douglas.
This best-of features the legendary U.K. guitarist performing a variety of rock and blues tracks, including "Forever Man," "Tears in Heaven," and "Before You Accuse Me," as well as an unplugged version of his smash hit "Layla."
Japanese import.
CD contains 1 bonus track.
It is hard to effectively document in one collection the career of an artist who is as much a vital part of popular music history today as when he reluctantly ventured into a solo career in 1970. CLAPTON CHRONICLES offers an interesting mix of Slowhand's soundtrack-ready acoustic ballads from the '90s and his electric guitar-driven pop-blues from the '80s.
"My Father's Eyes" is an emotionally uplifting song about a man's search for his identity through his relationship with his father. "Tears in Heaven," the bittersweet eulogy to Clapton's son, may be his most timeless composition and performance. His groundbreaking "MTV Unplugged" performance produced a new arrangement of his plea to Patti Harrison, "Layla." This approach hinted at a new direction for Eric Clapton's music. Clapton's roots break through on the down-and-dirty Delta blues-tinged "Before You Accuse Me." He stands among very few who have carried their musical heart with them throughout their career and have stayed true to it.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Eric Clapton

Product Info

  • UPC: 4943674011377
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)