Eliza Carthy Rice

Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GYKJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 1, 1997
  • Label: Topic Records


  • 1.Blow the Winds / The Game of Draughts
  • 2.The Snow It Melts the Soonest
  • 3.Picking up Sticks / The Old Mole / Felton Lonnin / Kingston Girls
  • 4.Miller and the Lass
  • 5.Herring Song
  • 6.Mons Meg
  • 7.Tuesday Morning
  • 8.Haddock and Chips
  • 9.The Americans Have Stolen My True Love Away
  • 10.Zycanthos Jig / Tommy's Foot / Quebecois
  • 11.The Sweetness of Mary / Holywell Hornpipe / Swedish
  • 12.Benjamin Bowmaneer
  • 13.Commodore Moore / The Black Dance / A Andy O

Product Description:

Rice, originally the acoustic half of the award winning double CD Red Rice.
Personnel: Eliza Carthy (vocals, fiddle, viola, piano, djembe); Saul Rose (vocals, accordion, melodeon); Eddie Boyd (acoustic guitar, bouzouki).
Recording information: Panda Sound, Robin Hood's Bay, North Yorkshire.
Photographer: Tom Howard.
Arrangers: Eddie Boyd; Eliza Carthy; Saul Rose.
While not a traditional folk album in a strictly purist sense, Rice (originally released in 1998 as half of the two-disc set Red Rice and reissued on its own in 2001) is much more in the vein of, say, early June Tabor or Carthy's mother, the redoubtable Norma Waterson, than the eclectic pop of its twin album, Red. With the exception of a couple of fiddle tunes, most notably the tricky "Haddock and Chips," that are Carthy originals, all of the tracks are traditional English folk songs. Not all of them are given strictly traditional settings, as the hazy overdubbed self-harmonies at the end of the lovely "The Snow It Melts the Soonest" attest, but the arrangements, using the same musicians as on Red, are entirely acoustic. The song selection is excellent, from the humorous "Herring Song" to the trio of dance tunes that closes the album, featuring Carthy's fiddle accompanied by melodeon, guitar, and the amplified clog-dancing of harmony singer Lucy Adams. A richly satisfying collection, Rice seems to be intended to show what Eliza Carthy was capable of in a traditional folk vein before she left folk music almost entirely with her next album, 2000's art rocky Angels & Cigarettes. ~ Stewart Mason

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Eliza Carthy

Product Info

  • UPC: 714822049429
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)