Eliza Carthy Red

1 rating
Price: $16.06
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  EHRJ
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 1, 1997
  • Label: Topic Records


  • 1.Accordion Song
  • 2.10,000 Miles
  • 3.Billy Boy / The Widow's Wedding
  • 4.Time in the Son
  • 5.Stumbling On
  • 6.Stingo / The Stacking Reel
  • 7.Greenwood Laddie / Mrs. Capron's Reel / Tune
  • 8.Walk Away
  • 9.Adieu, Adieu
  • 10.Russia
  • 11.Red Rice

Product Description:

Half of the award winning double CD Red Rice.
Personnel: Eliza Carthy (vocals, fiddle, accordion, keyboards); Eddie Boyd (acoustic guitar); Oliver Knight (electric guitar); Rory McLeod (harmonica); Martin Green (accordion, piano, keyboards); Andy Thorburn (keyboards); Barnaby Stradling (Moog synthesizer, acoustic bass, electric bass, percussion); Sam Thomas (Moog synthesizer, drums, percussion); Andrew M. Shack, Rev. Paul Bearer, Esq. (programming).
Recording information: Castle Hill Studios, Ewloe, Flintshire.
Photographer: Tom Howard.
Arrangers: Barnaby Stradling; Eliza Carthy; Sam Thomas ; Mal Green; Oliver Knight; Rev. Paul Bearer, Esq.
Originally released in 1998 as half of the two-CD set Red Rice and reissued on its own in 2001, Red shows the alternative pop side of Eliza Carthy. There's a folkish tinge to some of the songs -- the opening "Accordion Song" also shows off a facility for zydeco tunes -- but the overall feel is a little more Jane Siberry than June Tabor. Even the handful of traditional English folk tunes are given adventurous treatments that stray far afield from purism; "10,000 Miles" and the blinding reel "Stingo," a showcase for Carthy's exceptional fiddle playing, have the same sort of loose, rock-oriented playfulness as the best Fairport Convention (or Cordelia's Dad) blends of pop and trad. Carthy's magnificent voice -- she's every bit as good a singer as her mother, Norma Waterson, who may be the finest singer of traditional British folk music -- is at the forefront of these songs, and the arrangements are rich without sounding cluttered. Folk purists will be especially offended by the last three tracks, which blend Carthy's voice and fiddle with electronic keyboards and drum programming, but the closing "Red Rice," a storming fiddle instrumental over a dancefloor-ready electronica base, nonetheless resembles the more manic moments of the late, great Silly Wizard. ~ Stewart Mason

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Eliza Carthy

Product Info

  • UPC: 714822049320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm