Vashti Bunyan Some Things Just Stick in Your Mind: Singles and Demos 1964-1967 (Limited) (2-CD)

Some Things Just Stick in Your Mind: Singles and
6 ratings
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  EHQ5
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Dicristina Stair

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.137
3.5 stars out of 5 --"[A]t the time of these rarities, Bunyan was part Joan Baez, part Marianne Faithfull, with a virginal alto floating through PET SOUNDS-like madrigals."
Uncut - p.125
3 stars out of 5 -- "'Winter Is Blue', an unreleased single from 1966, is an eerie, baroque number that might not be out of place on an early Joni Mitchell album..."
The Wire - p.53
"[O]n more sparsely arranged tracks such as the 1966 single 'Train Song', the wispy melodies and nonchalant picking style of DIAMOND DAY emerge."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Some Things Just Stick In Your Mind - Decca single, 1965.
  • Buy for $0.992.I Want To Be Alone - Decca single, 1965.
  • Buy for $0.993.Train Song - Columbia single, 1966.
  • Buy for $0.994.Love Song - Columbia single, 1966.
  • Buy for $0.995.Winter is Blue - unreleased single, 1966.
  • Buy for $0.996.Coldest Night Of The Year - unreleased single as "Twice As Much and Vashti", 1966.
  • Buy for $0.997.I'd Like To Walk Around In Your Mind - unreleased single, 1967.
  • Buy for $0.998.Winter Is Blue - Acetate demo, 1966.
  • Buy for $0.999.Girl's Song in Winter - John Bunyan's tape, 1966.
  • Buy for $0.9910.If In Winter (100 Lovers) - John Bunyan's tape with Mike Crowther, 1966.
  • Buy for $0.9911.Wishwanderer - Restored acetate demo 1967.
  • Buy for $0.9912.Don't Believe - John Bunyan's tape 1966.
  • Buy for $0.9913.17 Pink Sugar Elephants - John Bunyan's tape 1966.

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Autumn Leaves
  • Buy for $0.992.Leave Me
  • Buy for $0.993.If In Winter (100 Lovers)
  • Buy for $0.994.How Do I Know
  • Buy for $0.995.Find My Heart Again
  • Buy for $0.996.Go Before The Dawn
  • Buy for $0.997.Girl's Song In Winter
  • Buy for $0.998.I Don't Know What Love Is
  • Buy for $0.999.Don't Believe What They Say
  • Buy for $0.9910.Love You Now
  • Buy for $0.9911.I Know
  • Buy for $0.9912.Someday

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Vashti Bunyan.
Vashti Bunyan became one of indie music's most unlikely comeback heroines in the early 2000s when her fame as both the female answer to Nick Drake and an authentic Luddite gained traction with hip young music fans via the reissue of her classic JUST ANOTHER DIAMOND DAY and her '05 collaboration with Animal Collective, HUMMER. SOME THINGS JUST STICK IN YOUR MIND collects singles and rarities from 1964 to 1967, the years before she famously hitched a wagon to a mule and went back to nature.
Disc one of the collection finds her simple songs and delicate vocals adorned with a rustic-baroque touch courtesy of Rolling Stones producer Andrew Oldham. The brew here is subtle but contains the same magic as DIAMOND DAY, whose song "Winter Is Blue" is included here in an embryonic form, along with the Jagger/Richards-penned title track. Disc two features Bunyan's strongest suit: just herself and her guitar delivering delicate lullabies of solitude. Standouts here include the childlike "I Know" and the devastating "Find My Heart Again."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Vashti Bunyan

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 124,161
  • UPC: 655035401126
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)