Greg Brown Songs of Innocence and of Experience

Songs of Innocence and of Experience
6 ratings
Only 4 copies left
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SYEQ
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Red House


  • Buy for $0.991.Introduction
  • Buy for $0.992.The Lamb
  • Buy for $0.993.Infant Joy
  • Buy for $0.994.The Chimney Sweeper
  • Buy for $0.995.The Echoing Green
  • Buy for $0.996.Night
  • Buy for $0.997.On Anothers Sorrow
  • Buy for $0.998.The Tyger
  • Buy for $0.999.The Angel
  • Buy for $0.9910.The Garden of Love
  • Buy for $0.9911.Infant Sorrow
  • Buy for $0.9912.Holy Thursday
  • Buy for $0.9913.Ah! Sun-Flower
  • Buy for $0.9914.The Little Vagabond
  • Buy for $0.9915.A Poison Tree
  • Buy for $0.9916.London

Product Description:

SONGS OF INNOCENCE AND EXPERIENCE features poems by William Blake set to music by Greg Brown.
Personnel includes: Greg Brown (vocals, guitar); Peter Ostrushko (mandolin, violin); Michael Doucet (violin); Dave Moore (panpipes, harmonica, button accordion); Angus Foster (bass).
Recorded at 74th Street Studio, Minneapolis, Minnesota.
Personnel: Greg Brown (vocals, guitar); Peter Ostroushko (mandolin, violin); Michael Doucet (violin); Dave Moore (pan flute, panpipes, harmonica, accordion).
Audio Mixer: Scott Rivard.
Recording information: 74th Street Studio, Minneapolis, MN.
Photographers: Paul Comstock; Bob Feldman.
One of the advantages of being a reasonably successful artist on an independent label is that you can pretty much do whatever you damn well please. Consequently, Greg Brown indulged his muse and put music to the famed set of William Blake poems that give this album its title. It's a natural fit, as Brown's combination of plainspoken verse and spiritual/poetic aspirations is of a piece with the wrestling match between humanity and divinity that's at the heart of Blake's words.
Wisely, Brown doesn't stray too far from his musical comfort zone. Instead of stretching himself to accommodate Blake's poems, he brings the poet's words to him, nestling them comfortably in the soft undercurrents of the album's acoustic folk/blues song structures. The music provides ample room for Blake's striking sentiments, and is pleasantly flavored by Michael Doucet's fiddle and Dave Moore's accordion.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Greg Brown

Product Info

  • UPC: 033651001423
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)