Greg Brown Bathtub Blues

Bathtub Blues
3 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  EHJG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Red House


  • Buy for $0.991.See the Moon
  • Buy for $0.992.Late Night Radio
  • Buy for $0.993.Bathtub Blues
  • Buy for $0.994.Payday
  • Buy for $0.995.So Long, You Old Tooth
  • Buy for $0.996.Green Leaf
  • Buy for $0.997.Young Robin
  • Buy for $0.998.Down at the Sea Hotel
  • Buy for $0.999.Shake Sugaree
  • Buy for $0.9910.Flabbergable
  • Buy for $0.9911.I Remember When
  • Buy for $0.9912.Four Wet Pigs
  • Buy for $0.9913.Monsters & Giants
  • Buy for $0.9914.Two Little Boys
  • Buy for $0.9915.You Might as Well Go to Sleep
  • Buy for $0.9916.I See the Moon

Product Description:

Personnel: Greg Brown (vocals, guitar); Pat Donohue (guitar); Gordie Johnson (bass); Robin Anders (percussion); Constie Brown, Zoe Brown, Amara Hark, Karene Hark, Vanessa Bjerke, Marcia Bjerke, Mary Kjos (background vocals).
The cliche about children's albums by "serious" artists such as Greg Brown is that they're also for adults. BATHTUB BLUES is one of those rare occasions when the cliche is true. It's partly because Brown, a family man himself, approaches his task whole-heartedly, and partly because he's always had a knack for tackling potentially sentimental topics without descending into mawkishness. Thus, he's the ideal candidate for this kind of project, and he carries it off with flying colors.
While some of the more strictly whimsical cuts, including "Four Wet Pigs" and the title track, do seem geared strictly towards kids, much of the album bears an all-ages stamp. The gently thumping "Late Night Radio" is a reminiscence from Brown's own childhood, and could have come straight from one of his "adult" albums. "Payday" and "Shake Sugaree" are simply covers of classic blues tunes by Mississippi John Hurt and Elizabeth Cotten respectively, their amiable tone making them natural additions. "Green Leaf" is another highlight; ostensibly a song about the simple occurrences of nature, it's a masterfully written, haunting ballad that pierces deep into the heart, and is one of Brown's finest compositions.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Greg Brown

Product Info

  • UPC: 033651004226
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)