Chuck Berry You Never Can Tell: The Complete Chess Recordings 1960-1966 (4-CD)

You Never Can Tell: The Complete Chess Recordings
6 ratings
20 copies available
Price: $71.98
List Price: $79.98
You Save: $8 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  SYDY
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Hip-O Select

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.72
4 stars out of 5 -- "[With] timeless killers....It also includes some great blues covers and a live set that finds Berry joking it up onstage..."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.79
4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] tremendous archival collection comprising 108 remastered tracks."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.Drifting Blues
  • Buy for $1.292.I Got To Find My Baby
  • Buy for $1.293.I Got To Find My Baby (Stereo Remix)
  • Buy for $1.294.Don't You Lie To Me
  • Buy for $1.295.Worried Life Blues
  • Buy for $1.296.Our Little Rendezvous
  • Buy for $1.297.Bye Bye Johnny
  • Buy for $1.298.Bye Bye Johnny (Stereo Remix)
  • Buy for $1.299.Run Around
  • Buy for $1.2910.Run Around (Stereo Remix)
  • Buy for $1.2911.Jaguar and Thunderbird
  • Buy for $1.2912.Diploma For Two
  • Buy for $1.2913.Little Star
  • Buy for $1.2914.The Way It Was Before
  • Buy for $1.2915.Away From You
  • Buy for $1.2916.Down the Road Apiece
  • Buy for $1.2917.Down the Road Apiece (Stereo Remix)
  • Buy for $1.2918.Confessin' the Blues
  • Buy for $1.2919.Sweet Sixteen
  • Buy for $1.2920.Thirteen Question Method
  • Buy for $1.2921.Stop and Listen
  • Buy for $1.2922.I Still Got the Blues
  • Buy for $1.2923.I'm Just a Lucky So and So
  • Buy for $1.2924.Mad Lad (Instrumental)
  • Buy for $1.2925.Surfin' Steel (Cryin' Steel) (Instrumental)
  • Buy for $1.2926.Route 66 (Take 10)
  • Buy for $1.2927.Route 66 (Alt. Take 11)
  • Buy for $1.2928.I'm Talking About You
  • Buy for $1.2929.Rip It Up
  • Buy for $1.2930.Come On
  • Buy for $1.2931.Come On (Alternate - Stereo)
  • Buy for $1.2932.Adulteen - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2933.The Man and the Donkey

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.Go Go Go - (alternate take)
  • Buy for $1.292.Go Go Go
  • Buy for $1.293.Trick or Treat
  • Buy for $1.294.Brown Eyed Handsome Man - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.295.Brown Eyed Handsome Man
  • Buy for $1.296.Brown Eyed Handsome Man (Stereo Remix)
  • Buy for $1.297.All Aboard
  • Buy for $1.298.Live Recordings
  • Buy for $1.299.Guitar Boogie - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2910.Let It Rock - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2911.Almost Grown - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2912.Chuck Berry Dialog - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2913.Johnny B. Goode - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2914.Introduction / Instrumental - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2915.Sweet Little Sixteen - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2916.Wee Wee Hours - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2917.Chuck Berry Dialog - (previously unreleased)
  • 18.Maybellene - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2919.Medley: Goodnight Sweetheart / Goodnight / Johnny B. Goode / School Day - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2920.Nadine (is It You?)
  • Buy for $1.2921.You Never Can Tell
  • Buy for $1.2922.The Little Girl From Central
  • Buy for $1.2923.(The) Things I Used To Do
  • 24.I'm In the Danger Zone - (previously unreleased)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • Buy for $1.291.Fraulein
  • Buy for $1.292.Lonely All the Time (Crazy Arms)
  • Buy for $1.293.O Rangutang (Unfaded Instrumental)
  • Buy for $1.294.Big Ben (Blues)
  • Buy for $1.295.Promised Land
  • Buy for $1.296.Brenda Lee
  • Buy for $1.297.No Particular Place To Go
  • Buy for $1.298.You Two
  • Buy for $1.299.Liverpool Drive
  • 10.Chuck's Beat
  • 11.Bo's Beat
  • Buy for $1.2912.Little Marie
  • Buy for $1.2913.Go, Bobby Soxer
  • Buy for $1.2914.Lonely School Days
  • Buy for $1.2915.His Daughter Caroline
  • Buy for $1.2916.Dear Dad
  • Buy for $1.2917.Want To Be Your Driver
  • Buy for $1.2918.Spending Christmas - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2919.The Song of My Love
  • Buy for $1.2920.Butterscotch
  • Buy for $1.2921.After It's Over
  • Buy for $1.2922.Why Should We End This Way

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • Buy for $1.291.You Came a Long Way From St. Louis
  • Buy for $1.292.She Once Was Mine
  • Buy for $1.293.Jamaica Farewell
  • Buy for $1.294.My Little Love Light
  • Buy for $1.295.I Got a Booking
  • Buy for $1.296.St. Louis Blues
  • Buy for $1.297.Shake Rattle & Roll (Take 23) - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.298.Wee Wee Hours - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.299.Honey Hush (Take 3) - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2910.Run Joe
  • Buy for $1.2911.It's My Own Business
  • Buy for $1.2912.One For My Baby (and One More For the Road)
  • Buy for $1.2913.Every Day We Rock and Roll
  • Buy for $1.2914.My Mustang Ford - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2915.My Mustang Ford
  • Buy for $1.2916.My Mustang Ford (Stereo Remix)
  • Buy for $1.2917.Merrily We Rock and Roll
  • Buy for $1.2918.Vaya Con Dios
  • Buy for $1.2919.Wee Hour Blues
  • Buy for $1.2920.It Wasn't Me
  • Buy for $1.2921.It Wasn't Me (Stereo Remix)
  • Buy for $1.2922.Ain't That Just Like a Woman
  • Buy for $1.2923.Right Off Rampart Street
  • Buy for $1.2924.Welcome Back Pretty Baby
  • Buy for $1.2925.Sad Day, Long Night
  • Buy for $1.2926.Ramona Say Yes
  • Buy for $1.2927.Ramona Say Yes - (alternate take)
  • Buy for $1.2928.Viva Viva Rock 'N Roll
  • Buy for $1.2929.His Daughter Caroline (Fast Version)*
  • Buy for $1.2930.Lonely School Days (Fast Version)

Product Description:

Personnel: Chuck Berry (vocals, guitar, steel guitar); Martha Berry (vocals); Jules Blattner Group, Jeff Krivet, Matt "Guitar" Murphy, Bo Diddley (guitar); Peter John Hogman (harmonica); James Robinson (tenor saxophone); Johnnie Johnson (piano, organ); Ellis "Lafayette" Leake, Paul Williams & His Hucklebuckers , Bob Scrivens (piano); Willie Dixon (double bass); Brian David Kattenhorn, Howard Jones, Billy Downing, Odie Payne, Jr. (drums); Mike Boocock, Roger Fairhurst, Brian Cockburn Smith, Ricky Green, Neil Carter, Bill Armstrong (background vocals).
Audio Remixers: Andy McKaie; Peter Doell.
Liner Note Author: Fred Rothwell.
Photographers: Brian Cockburn Smith; Ulf Kruger; David Redfern; Jan Persson; Chuck Stewart.
Unlike his fellow original rock & rollers like Elvis, Little Richard, and Jerry Lee Lewis from the Class of '56, Chuck Berry remained quite vibrant in the '60s and even recorded some of his best songs--"You Never Can Tell," "No Particular Place To Go," and "Nadine" in the decade of Beatlemania. Including all of these classics and more, YOU NEVER CAN TELL: THE COMPLETE CHESS RECORDINGS 1960-1966 thoroughly covers this era over four discs and 108 tracks, 18 of which were previously unreleased. Capturing many different sides of the rock-&-roll giant--including his blues phase, great instrumental versions of favorites like "Brown Eyed Handsome Man," and 45 minutes of a 1963 live show in Michigan--the box is a must-own for serious Berry devotees and an in-depth rendering of one of the greats in his last essential era.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Chuck Berry

Product Info

  • UPC: 602517937833
  • Shipping Weight: 0.49/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)