Anne Briggs A Collection

A Collection
12 ratings
Price: $11.69
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  EHHQ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Topic Records

Entertainment Reviews:

The Wire - 12/00, pp.36-7
"...Direct and honest...she sings unaccompanied. The singular quality that is peculiar to her is to make the material sound fresh and contemporary, to make the recording seem alive. She has presence..."


  • Buy for $0.991.The Recruited Collier
  • Buy for $0.992.The Doffing Mistress
  • Buy for $0.993.She Moves Through the Fair
  • Buy for $0.994.Let No Man Steal Your Thyme
  • Buy for $0.995.Lowlands
  • Buy for $0.996.My Bonny Boy
  • Buy for $0.997.Polly Vaughan
  • Buy for $0.998.Rosemary Lane
  • Buy for $0.999.Gathering Rushes in the Month of May
  • Buy for $0.9910.The Whirly Whorl
  • Buy for $0.9911.The Stonecutter Boy
  • Buy for $0.9912.Martinmas Time
  • Buy for $0.9913.Blackwaterside
  • Buy for $0.9914.The Snow It Melts the Soonest
  • Buy for $0.9915.Willie O'Winsbury
  • Buy for $0.9916.Go Your Way
  • Buy for $0.9917.Thorneymoor Woods
  • Buy for $0.9918.The Cuckoo
  • Buy for $0.9919.Reynardine
  • 20.Young Tambling
  • Buy for $0.9921.Living by the Water
  • Buy for $0.9922.Maa Bonny Lad

Product Description:

Personnel: Anne Briggs (vocals, guitar, bouzouki); Ray Fisher (vocals); John Moynihan (bouzouki).
Includes liner notes by Colin Harper and A.L. Lloyd.
Personnel: Anne Briggs (vocals, guitar, bouzouki).
Liner Note Author: Colin Harper.
Recording information: 1958-1968.
Photographer: Brian Shuel.
Anne Briggs' recording career lasted from 1963 to 1973, after which she largely withdrew from public performance, so the 1990 compilation CLASSIC ANNE BRIGGS came as a revelation to a generation of folk music fans more familiar with successors like Maddy Prior, Sandy Denny and June Tabor. That album gathered together her entire output for the Topic label. The ANNE BRIGGS album of 1971 was combined with her '60s output: two songs she contributed to THE IRON MUSE project, four more from the conceptual BIRD IN THE BUSH album plus her own EP THE HAZARDS OF LOVE.
In the '90s she made a short-lived return to live performance in the company of Martin Carthy and Dave Swarbrick. Always plagued by stage fright, these appearances were clearly nerve-wracking and the supportive enthusiasm of audiences was not enough to persuade her to revive her singing career. A COLLECTION presents all her Topic material in order of release, but this time adds superb versions of "She Moves Through The Fair" and "Let No Man Steal Your Thyme" first heard on two volumes of THE DECCA EDINBURGH FOLK FESTIVAL.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Anne Briggs

Product Info

  • UPC: 714822050425
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)