Peter Bellamy The Transports: The Silver Edition Of Peter Bellamy's Classic Ballad Opera (2-CD Box Set)

The Transports: The Silver Edition Of Peter
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $35.98
List Price: $39.98
You Save: $4 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  SY9Q
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 12, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Free Reed Us Release

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 12/92, p.144
4 Stars - Excellent - "...In effect a folk opera, it was his best achievement, something to be detailed in any discussion of a folk revival..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Overture
  • 2.Ballad of Henry & Susannah, The (Part 1)
  • 3.Us Poor Fellows
  • 4.The Robber's Song
  • 5.Ballad of Henry & Susannah, The (Part 2)
  • 6.The Leaves in the Woodland
  • 7.Ballad of Henry & Susannah, The (Part 3)
  • 8.I Once Lived in Service
  • 9.Norwich Gaol
  • 10.Sweet Loving Friendship
  • 11.Ballad of Henry & Susannah, The (Part 4)
  • 12.The Black and Bitter Night
  • 13.Humane Turnkey, The (I)
  • 14.The Plymouth Mail
  • 15.Humane Turnkey, The (II)
  • 16.The Green Fields of England
  • 17.Roll Down
  • 18.The Still and Silent Ocean
  • 19.Ballad of Henry & Susannah, The (Part 5)
  • 20.The Convict's Wedding Dance

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Black and Bitter Night
  • 2.Raking the Embers
  • 3.Ballad of Henry and Sussanah, The (Part 1)
  • 4.Us Poor Fellows
  • 5.The Robber's Song
  • 6.Ballad of Henry and Sussanah, The (Part 2)
  • 7.Mother's Song (Leaves in the Woodland)
  • 8.Ballad of Henry and Sussanah, The (Part 3)
  • 9.I Once Lived in Service
  • 10.Norwich Gaol
  • 11.Sweet Loving Friendship
  • 12.Ballad of Henry and Sussanah, The (Part 4)
  • 13.The Black and Bitter Night
  • 14.The Humane Turnkey
  • 15.The Plymouth Mail
  • 16.Green Fields of England
  • 17.Roll Down
  • 18.The Still and Silent Ocean
  • 19.Ballad of Henry and Sussanah, The (Part 5)
  • 20.Dance: The Convict's Wedding
  • 21.Black Concertina
  • 22.Roll Down

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Peter Bellamy, June Tabor, Martin Carthy, Nic Jones, The Watersons (vocals); Dave Swarbrick (violin); Oliver Brookes (cello); Philippa Davies (flute); Sophia Wilson (oboe).
Recorded in 1977. Includes liner notes by Eric Fowler.
Spine-tingling close harmonies, a compelling storyline, original songs, and a cast of British folk luminaries (Martin Carthy, Nic Jones, June Tabor, and Norma Waterson, to name a few) distinguish Peter Bellamy 's 1977 "ballad opera," the musical presentation of a true story about Australian convicts who meet and fall in love while imprisoned. This classic song cycle has been reissued with an expanded track list and liner notes.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Peter Bellamy

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 132,526
  • UPC: 020286010227
  • Shipping Weight: 1.68/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)