The Albion Band Road Movies

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.0
1 rating
List Price: $15.98
Your Price: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  TPC 523

CD Details

  • Released: May 8, 2001
  • Label: Topic Records


  • 1.Press Gang
  • 2.B4391/1-95
  • 3.The Road Beneath My Wheels
  • 4.Dental Excursion
  • 5.Pieces of Me
  • 6.Home Straight
  • 7.Cookery Is the New Rock 'N' Roll
  • 8.When My Son Is Grown
  • 9.Customs: / Culture Shock / Etiquette / Nothing To Declare
  • 10.It Is That Window of Time
  • 11.She Still Waits
  • 12.Southern Skies
  • 13.He Ran Out of Road

Product Description:

Albion Band includes: Ashley Hutchings (vocals, electric bass); Ken Nicol (acoustic & electric guitars); Joe Broughton (acoustic guitar, mandolin, fiddle); Kellie While (acoustic guitar, background vocals); Neil Marshall
(drums, percussion, background vocals).
Recorded at Wood Worm Studio, Oxfordshire, England between July and September 2000.
Ashley Hutchings has had a hand in the formation of three seminal English folk-rock outfits, including Fairport Convention, Steeleye Span, and the Albion Band. Of the three bands, the Albion Band is the only one that still holds the honor of having him as a member. Road Movies is an eclectic album of jigs and contemporary folk-rock with an all-star cast. Things get started with "Press Gang," a perfect combination of folk and rock, with a nice vocal by Ken Nicol. He also plays electric guitar, giving this piece a nice edge. The oddly titled "B4391/I-95" is a lively jig, filled with lovely fiddle work by Joe Broughton, while "The Road Beneath My Wheels" has a more contemporary sound, with Kellie While handling the lead vocals. While has a full, resonant voice, and whether singing alone or with other band members, she adds spice and variety to the vocal arrangements on Road Movies. Between Nicol and While's lead vocals, and the instrumental prowess of the band, the material is continually fresh and varied. Broughton's fiddle work should also be noted, livening up songs such as "Pieces of Me" with charming runs that are full of melody and rhythm, while drummer Neil Marshall's steady work assures that this folk-rock has a firm underpinning. The band has written most of the material and has given it a strong traditional base. For old fans and those who just love good English folk-rock, Road Movies will leave you humming and dancing. ~ Ronnie Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Albion Band

Product Info:

  • UPC: 714822952323
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item