Aerosmith Greatest Hits 1973 - 1988 Classics Live

Greatest Hits 1973 - 1988 Classics Live
1 rating
Price: $19.78
List Price: $27.98
You Save: $8.20 (29% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  682EK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Sony/BMG Int'l

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Dream On
  • 2.Mama Kin
  • 3.Same Old Song and Dance
  • 4.Seasons of Wither
  • 5.Sweet Emotion
  • 6.Walk This Way
  • 7.Big Ten Inch Record
  • 8.Last Child
  • 9.Back in the Saddle
  • 10.Draw the Line
  • 11.Kings and Queens
  • 12.Come Together
  • 13.Remember (Walking in the Sand)
  • 14.Lightning Strikes
  • 15.Chip Away the Stone
  • 16.Sweet Emotion - (1991 Thoener Remix)
  • 17.One Way Street - (previously unreleased)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Train Kept A Rollin'
  • 2.Kings and Queens
  • 3.Walk This Way
  • 4.Dream On
  • 5.Mama Kin
  • 6.Three Mile Smile
  • 7.Reefer Head Woman
  • 8.Lord of the Thighs
  • 9.Major Barbara

Product Description:

Two excellent releases from the iconic 1970s and 80s rockers--GREATEST HITS 1973-1988 and CLASSICS LIVE--are collected here, for a total of 22 tracks.
Aerosmith: Steven Tyler (vocals); Joe Perry (guitar, dulcimer, background vocals); Brad Whitford (guitar); Tom Hamilton (bass guitar); Joey Kramer (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixers: Rory Romano; James Diener.
Audio Remixer: David Thoener.
Recording information: Mama Kin Music Hall, Boston, MA (??/1977-12/1994); Various Concerts (??/1977-12/1994).
Photographers: Ron Pownall; Jimmy Ienner, Jr.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Joe Perry ; Brad Whitford; Tom Hamilton ; Joey Kramer; Rick Dufay; Jimmy Crespo.
Arrangers: Jack Douglas; Aerosmith.
This two-disc collection puts together one of the strongest greatest-hits albums to ever be released with a fairly lackluster live album that undermines the power of Aerosmith's live talents. The first disc has been released before, but on the new one there are five extra songs (all of which are great) and a new subtitle claiming that these were all their greatest hits up until 1988. If that is true, then where is "Angel," "Rag Doll," "Dude Looks Like a Lady," or their career-reviving duet with Run DMC on "Walk This Way"? The answer is that the label never had the rights to any of these tracks, but this new subtitle is a needless annoyance that may fool buyers who are unfamiliar with Aerosmith's label situation. But the music is still great, providing a glimpse into the incredible albums that the group managed to release in the '70s. The live album is a different story; with its subpar sound quality and odd song selection it is more of a bore than anything else. Most of this was recorded with replacement guitarists Jimmy Crespo and Rick Dufay, proving how vital Joe Perry and Brad Whitford truly are to Aerosmith's sound. Of course the band was shooting up and snorting every drug they could get their hands on at the time, so a distinct lack of sobriety also adds to the sloppy playing and lack of energy. Either of the other Columbia live albums would have been better (Live Bootleg and Classics Live 2), but this is still a good deal when put together. Listeners can look at this collection as the yin and yang of Aerosmith: why they became one of the biggest rock bands of the '70s and why they fell so hard at the end of their first run. ~ Bradley Torreano

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Product Groupings:
Get Email Alerts for Aerosmith

Product Info

  • UPC: 9399700065763
  • Shipping Weight: 0.42/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)