Sandy Denny Trevor Lucas and Friends: The Attic Tracks 1972-1984

Sandy Denny, Trevor Lucas and Friends: The Attic
5 ratings
Price: $26.75
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  F92W
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 11, 1997
  • Label: Raven [Australia]


  • 1.Moments - (previously unreleased)
  • 2.The Ballad of Ned Kelly
  • 3.Ecoute, Ecoute
  • 4.One More Chance
  • 5.Rising for the Moon
  • 6.Tears
  • 7.Easy to Slip - (previously unreleased)
  • 8.Losing Game - (previously unreleased)
  • 9.Girls on the Avenue - (previously unreleased)
  • 10.Breakaway - (previously unreleased)
  • 11.Still Waters Run Deep
  • 12.The King and Queen of England
  • 13.No End
  • 14.The Town I Loved So Well
  • 15.Forever Young
  • 16.Gold Dust
  • 17.Stranger to Himself
  • 18.Who Knows Where the Time Goes?

Product Description:

Recorded between 1972 and 1984.
Personnel: Sandy Denny (vocals, guitar, piano); Jerry Donahue (guitar); Rob Hendry, Phil Palmer (electric guitar); Alan Skidmore (saxophone); Steve Winwood (organ); John "Rabbit" Bundrick (keyboards); Dave Mattacks, Gerry Conway (drums); Linda Thompson (background vocals).
Recording information: Island Studios, London, England (1972-1984).
Editor: Glenn A. Baker.
The perfect -- and we do mean perfect -- complement to Hannibal Records' Who Knows Where the Time Goes box. Attic Tracks (so named to distinguish it from Dylan's Basement Tapes) is an 18-song collection from Australia's Raven Records consisting of unreleased songs, outtakes, and extreme rarities, recorded by Sandy Denny and her former husband, the late Trevor Lucas. Included are tracks from Fairport's 1974 tour ("The Ballad of Ned Kelly"); Denny's beautiful, passionate French version of "Listen, Listen," entitled "Ecoute, Ecoute"; a pair of Denny demos ("One More Chance," "Rising for the Moon") given to Fairport Convention for their recording of the Rising for the Moon album; the lost 1975 Lucas/Fairport track "Tears"; "Losing Game," a Flying Burrito Bros. track recorded by Denny and Lucas, in a broad, brassy, hard-rocking version in 1972 and finished in 1976, but never released; the forgotten 1977 Denny B-side "Still Waters Run Deep"; Lucas' version of Bob Dylan's "Forever Young"; three songs from the last concert that Denny ever gave, including one of her longest, liveliest versions of "Who Knows Where the Time Goes" on record; and Denny's fiery reading of the Little Feat song "Easy to Slip," recorded during the making of her Rendezvous album. The big surprise, however, is Lucas' gently soulful cover of the Australian hit "Girls on the Avenue," on which his voice has an extraordinary "haunt count" and the accompaniment is nothing less than ravishing, in a mid-'70s pop vein -- Paul McCartney should only make such records! A unique collection, and a necessary addition to the possessions of any fan of Fairport Convention or Sandy Denny. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Sandy Denny

Product Info

  • UPC: 9398800004627
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)