Calexico The Black Light

The Black Light
29 ratings
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  F927
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: May 19, 1998
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Quarter Stick


  • 1.Gypsy's Curse
  • 2.Fake Fur
  • 3.The Ride, Pt. II
  • 4.Where Water Flows
  • 5.The Black Light
  • 6.Sideshow
  • 7.Chach
  • 8.Missing
  • 9.Minas de Cobre (For Better Metal)
  • 10.Over Your Shoulder
  • 11.Vinegaroon
  • 12.Trigger
  • 13.Sprawl
  • 14.Stray
  • 15.Old Man Waltz
  • 16.Bloodflow
  • 17.Frontera

Product Description:

Calexico: Joey Burns (vocals, guitar, steel guitar, mandolin, cello, accordion, keyboards, double bass, percussion); John Convertino (accordion, vibraphone, marimba, drums, percussion).
Additonal personnel: Stephanie Nelson (vocals); Nick Luca (Spanish guitar, claves); Gabriel Landin (gitaron); Neil Harry (pedal steel guitar); Bridget Keating (violin); Rigo Pedroza, Fernando Sanchez, Al Tapatio (trumpet); Howe Gelb (piano, organ); Tasha Bundy (background vocals).
Principally recorded at Wavelab Studios, Tucson, Arizona in July, August & December, 1997.
Personnel: Joey Burns (vocals, guitar, mandolin, cello, accordion, keyboards, percussion); Nick Luca (guitar, claves); Bridget Keating (violin); John Convertino (accordion, vibraphone, marimba, drums, percussion); Fernando Sanchez (trumpet); Howe Gelb (piano, organ).
Recording information: WaveLab Studios, Tucson, AZ (07/1997-12/1997).
When not serving as a rhythm section for such acts as Giant Sand, Barbara Manning, Richard Buckner and The Friends of Dean Martinez, multi-instrumentalists Joey Burns and John Convertino comprise Calexico, also featuring Convertino's wife Tasha Bundy on backing vocals. Based in Tuscon Arizona, Calexico makes the most of its proximity to the Mexican border--the music is dominated by Spanish rhythms, sounds, and textures.
THE BLACK LIGHT is mostly instrumental, with a few songs sung by Burns in a voice strangely reminiscent of The Eagles' Glenn Frey. The feel is always relaxed but intriguing, with a wide range of instrumentation (Burns & Convertino play bass, guitar, cello, mandolin, accordian, steel guitar, vibes, drums, marimba, and percussion, with guest musicians handling organ, piano, violin, and claves) very effectively conveying a dark, almost cinematic vision of desert-town nightlife. A horn section is brilliantly utilized on tracks like "Chach," "Minas De Cobre," and "Over Your Shoulder." The vocal songs deal with violence, dead ends both figurative and literal, booze and crime. "Margaritaville" it ain't, but THE BLACK LIGHT still makes for excellent summer listening either on the porch, fire escape, or hacienda.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 29 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Calexico

Product Info

  • UPC: 036172005222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)