Astrud Gilberto Compact Jazz: Astrud Gilberto

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.8
16 ratings
List Price: $11.98
SALE PRICE: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  PLG 831369

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1987
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • 1.The Girl From Ipanema
  • 2.Agua de Beber
  • 3.Once I Loved
  • 4.Goodbye Sadness (Tristeza)
  • 5.Meditation
  • 6.Berimbau
  • 7.It Might as Well Be Spring
  • 8.O Morro (Nao Tem Vez)
  • 9.Summer Samba (Samba de Verao)
  • 10.Corcovado (Quiet Nights)
  • 11.Dindi
  • 12.Take Me to Aruanda
  • 13.Felicidade
  • 14.Only Trust Your Heart
  • 15.Beach Samba
  • 16.How Insensitive

Product Description:

Personnel: Astrud Gilberto (vocals); Joao Gilberto (vocals, guitar); Antonio Carlos Jobim (guitar, piano); Kenny Burrell (guitar); Dom Um Romao (berimbau); Bud Shank (flute, alto saxophone); Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Stu Williamson (trumpet); Milt Bernhart (trombone); Bob Brookmeyer (valve trombone); Joao Donato (piano); Walter Wanderley (organ); Gary Burton (vibraphone); Claudio Slon , Joe Hunt , Milton Banana (drums); Bobby Rosengarden (percussion).
Audio Remasterers: Dennis Drake; Mark Wilder.
Liner Note Author: James Isaacs.
Recording information: Cafe Au Gogo, NY; Englewood Cliffs, NJ; Los Angeles, CA; New York, NY.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Gil Evans; Joao Donato; Marty Paich.
Arrangers: Don Sebesky; Marty Paich.
Brazilian bossa nova princess Astrud Gilberto's entry in Verve's extensive Compact Jazz series of reissues is one of the best of her many compilations. COMPACT JAZZ focuses on her jazzier early work with Stan Getz and Joao Gilberto instead of her later, more pop-oriented solo records. The 16-track collection leans towards sambas, and bossa novas, though it also includes the occasional jazz standard such as "It Might As Well Be Spring," performed in Gilberto's "desafinado" (deliberately slightly off-pitch) vocal style. Her deadpan, childlike voice is one of the most unique and impressive in jazz, and COMPACT JAZZ displays it like a rare jewel. Selections range from her classic debut. "The Girl From Ipanema," through such Brazilian gems as "Berimbau," "Summer Samba," and "Corcovado (Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars)" and the gorgeous closer, "How Insensitive."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 16 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Astrud Gilberto

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 53,566
  • UPC: 042283136922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: