Jeff Healey Cover To Cover

Cover To Cover
6 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 9467
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: BMG/Arista Records 46933 (1995)

Description by

A budget-priced 12-track collection of favorites from The Jeff Healey Band. All original recordings.


  • 1.Shapes Of Things
  • 2.Stop Breakin' Down
  • 3.Highway 49
  • 4.As The Years Go Passing By
  • 5.I'm Ready
  • 6.Evil
  • 7.Stuck In The Middle With You
  • 8.Angel
  • 9.The Moon Is Full
  • 10.Yer Blues
  • 11.Communication Breakdown
  • 12.Me And My Crazy Self

Product Description:

COVER TO COVER is an album of cover songs.
The Jeff Healey Band: Jeff Healey (guitar, vocals, 6-string bass); Joe Rockman (bass); Tom Stephen (drums).
Additional personnel: Pat Rush (guitar); Jerome Godboo, John Popper (harmonica); Roy Bittan, Denis Keldi, Paul Shaffer (keyboards); Art Avalos (percussion); Amanda Marshall, Mischke, Stevie Vain (background vocals).
Recorded at Forte Studio and Sounds Interchange, Toronto, Canada; A&M Recording Studio, Hollywood, California; The Hit Factory, New York, New York.
"Shapes Of Things" was nominated for a 1996 Grammy Award for Best Rock Instrumental Performance.
One likes the covers concept espoused by blues-rockers The Jeff Healey Band in a kind of backhanded way: as much as one admires the chops displayed by Toronto's blind guitarist whiz-kid, the group's songwriting is somewhat lyric-challenged. Cover to Cover works to circumvent the combo's main limitations. The disc kicks off in grand style with a dramatic, original instrumental reading of The Yardbird's "Shapes of Things." A pair of Hendrix numbers ("Freedom," "Angel") chalks up to unfortunate typecasting for Healey. Some inclusions (try the Stealer's Wheel chestnut "Stuck in the Middle with You") are bland vanilla throwaways. Still others, namely Spirit's "I Got a Line on You," sends one running back to the original versions. Mind you, if any of these point new listeners in the direction of the original, then a valuable public service has been performed. ~ Roch Parisien
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.1
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Jeff Healey

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 58,500
  • UPC: 090431946725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)