Waylon Jennings The Music of Waylon Jennings (3-CD Box Set)

The Music of Waylon Jennings (3-CD Box Set)
4 ratings
Price: $26.98
List Price: $29.98
You Save: $3 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  F8QV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: RCA

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Stop the World (And Let Me Off)
  • 2.(That's What You Get) For Lovin' Me
  • 3.The Chokin' Kind
  • 4.Only Daddy That'll Walk the Line
  • 5.The Taker
  • 6.Ladies Love Outlaws
  • 7.Lonesome, On'ry and Mean
  • 8.I'm a Ramblin' Man
  • 9.We Had It All
  • 10.Amanda
  • 11.Dreaming My Dreams with You
  • 12.Wurlitzer Prize, The (I Don't Want to Get Over You)
  • 13.Lucille (You Won't Do Your Daddy's Will)
  • 14.Drinkin' and Dreamin'
  • 15.I Ain't Living Long Like This

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.That's the Chance I'll Have to Take
  • 2.Anita, You're Dreaming
  • 3.You Ask Me To
  • 4.This Time
  • 5.Rainy Day Woman
  • 6.Bob Wills Is Still the King
  • 7.Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way?
  • 8.Waymore's Blues
  • 9.I've Always Been Crazy
  • 10.Don't You Think This Outlaw's Bit's Done Got out of Hand
  • 11.Theme from the Dukes of Hazzard (Good Ol' Boys)
  • 12.Shine
  • 13.Women Do Know How to Cary On
  • 14.Never Could Toe the Mark
  • 15.Never Say Die - (live)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.I Got You
  • 2.MacArthur Park
  • 3.Suspicious Minds
  • 4.Good Hearted Woman
  • 5.Luckenbach, Texas (Back to the Basics of Love)
  • 6.Mammas Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys
  • 7.There Ain't No Good Chain Gang
  • 8.Night Life
  • 9.Wild Side of Life / It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels
  • 10.Storms Never Last
  • 11.Just to Satisfy You
  • 12.Leave Them Boys Alone
  • 13.The Conversation
  • 14.The Highwayman
  • 15.Silver Stallion

Product Description:

Liner Note Authors: Sylvie Simmons; Sylvie Simons.
Photographers: Michael Ochs; David Redferns; Michael Putland; David Redfern; Stephanie Chernikowski.
The Music of Waylon Jennings is part of a new Legacy series that essentially packages three career-spanning discs into a semi-long box package containing 45 tracks with a booklet that features a biographical essay and complete track information. This one divides up easily into three categories, with a disc each dedicated to "the singer," "the songwriter," and the collaborator," and Jennings broke ground in all three areas during his career. Disc one is "the singer" chapter and includes music from his groundbreaking RCA period in which he issued a slew of charting country singles. These tracks include his signature reading of Steve Young's "Lonesome On'ry and Mean," "Stop the World (And Let Me Off)," "The Taker," and "Ain;t Living Long Like This." Disc two showcases the aspect few people really take into account when regarding Jennings, and that is as a songwriter. Some of these tunes, such as "Are Your Sure Hank Done It This Way?" crossed over onto the pop charts as they connected with rock & roll audiences as well as country fans. Other Jennings' classics here include "I've Always Been Crazy," "This Time," "Waymore's Blues," and of course, "Good Ol' Boys," the theme from the television series Dukes of Hazzard. Disc three covers the collaborations Jennings recorded with RCA and Columbia. There are tacks with the Highwaymen that also included Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, and Kris Kristofferson. The tracks on this third CD are mostly stone classics, such as his duets with Nelson on "Good Hearted Woman," "Luckenbach, Texas," and "Mammas Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys"; and those with his wife Jessi Colter: the medley of "Wild Side of Life/It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels," and the gorgeous "Storms Never Last." In all, while this isn't a complete portrait of the enigmatic Jennings, it certainly is a well-rounded one. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Waylon Jennings

Product Info

  • UPC: 886975672622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.43/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)