John Lee Hooker Definitive Collection [Metro]

Definitive Collection [Metro]
23% OFF
Rating 3.5
4 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $7.99
Sale Price: $7.19
PRE-BLACK FRIDAY: $6.19 Limited Time Only
You Save: $1.80 (23% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  G883
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Amazon sells this CD for $9.99, buying at saves you 38%
This is the price to buy directly from or its featured FBA seller. Prices change often, this price was last checked on November 24, 2015. Amazon is a registered trademark of, Inc.

Related products:

Black Friday

CD Details

  • Clearance CDs with the ZHUS prefix may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: March 13, 2000
  • Label: Metro Music


  • 1.Trouble Blues
  • 2.Baby Lee
  • 3.Dimples
  • 4.Every Night
  • 5.I Love You Honey
  • 6.I'm in the Mood
  • 7.Little Wheel
  • 8.I See You When You're Weak
  • 9.I'm So Excited
  • 10.Crawlin' King Snake
  • 11.Wheel and Deal
  • 12.I'm Going Upstairs
  • 13.Road Is So Rough
  • 14.Boom Boom
  • 15.I'm Mad Again
  • 16.Boogie Chillen'
  • 17.Don't Look Back
  • 18.Mama, You Got a Daughter
  • 19.Solid Sender
  • 20.Want Ad Blues
  • 21.Hard Headed Woman
  • 22.This Is Hip
  • 23.It Serves Me Right to Suffer
  • 24.She's Long, She's Tall (She Weeps Like a Willow Tree)

Product Description:

John Lee Hooker's sprawling, six-decade-long discography is impossible to boil down to a single-disc best-of, though that hasn't stopped dozens of record companies from trying. Hip-O's 20-track THE DEFINITIVE COLLECTION is as well-selected and comprehensive a set as one is likely to find, however, drawing as it does from Hooker's entire career and choosing the best of his recordings from his endless succession of label associations.
The disc kicks off with one of the Hook's anthems, "Boogie Chillen," a raw, solo electric stomp from his earliest days at Modern Records, and one of the finest blues performances ever put to tape. Hooker went on to adopt powerful electric bands for his tenures with Chess, Impulse, Vee Jay, and other labels, and that sound is well represented here (see the classic "Boom Boom" or "One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer"). The artist's late-period collaborations with the likes of Carlos Santana and Bonnie Raitt are also included, rounding out this excellent if cursory overview of the blues icon.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.5
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for John Lee Hooker

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 106,496
  • UPC: 698458100528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Blues genre: