Charley Pride The Best of Charley Pride [Curb]

The Best of Charley Pride [Curb]
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $7.67 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.99
You Save: $1.32 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  GYFQ
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 7, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: RCA Victor Europe

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 10/03, p.130
3 stars out of 5 - "...There's no denying that lovely mulled voice..."


  • 1.Crystal Chandeliers
  • 2.Is Anybody Goin' to San Antone
  • 3.Kiss an Angel Good Mornin'
  • 4.All I Have to Offer You (Is Me)
  • 5.(I'm So) Afraid of Losing You Again
  • 6.I Can't Believe That You've Stopped Loving Me
  • 7.I'd Rather Love You
  • 8.I'm Just Me
  • 9.Wonder Could I Live There Anymore
  • 10.A Shoulder to Cry On
  • 11.She's Too Good to Be True
  • 12.Don't Fight the Feelings of Love
  • 13.Amazing Love
  • 14.Then Who Am I
  • 15.Hope You're Feelin' Me (Like I'm Feelin' You)
  • 16.My Eyes Can Only See as Far as You
  • 17.She's Just an Old Love Turned Memory
  • 18.I'll Be Leaving Alone

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Don Ovens.
The career of Charley Pride is worthy of record collecting beyond the confines of a greatest-hits set, but a listener who went out shopping for this type of item alone might find himself buried by a variety of volumes, few of which have any duplication. The first of several chapters' worth of retrospective collections released by RCA, this is a fine example of Pride's performing style. Some of the trademarks are his superb voice, often enveloped by background singers as if he were trying to hide from the producer, dead-on accompaniment that basically sticks to the roots sound of country & western, and an emotional depth that makes the country artists of later decades sound like they are scribbling in the margins of greeting cards. The Pride live album In Person has long been considered one of his masterpieces, especially for fans of hot pedal steel playing. The radio hit "Kawliga" was originally on that record, and was wisely chosen as part of this collection, demonstrating not only Pride's flair for Hank Williams but his relaxed delivery. The casual feeling extends to the production, and it would be indeed hard to conceive of a country radio hit of today in which the singer would toss off a comment along the lines of "have a good time!" in the direction of the audience, right in the middle of a song. The Mel Tillis song "The Snakes Crawl at Night" is a cold-chills affair, and other great tracks include "Just Between Me and You" and "Gone, on the Other Hand." "The Day the World Stood Still" reveals the baritone side of Pride's vocalizing. Some nice production touches are evident courtesy of Jack Clement, who is also writer or co-writer of a good chunk of the tunes here. ~ Eugene Chadbourne

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Charley Pride

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 28,048
  • UPC: 828765324427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)