Langhorne Slim When the Sun's Gone Down (2-CD)

When the Sun's Gone Down (2-CD)
8 ratings
Only 4 copies left
Sale: $11.68
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.11 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $2.87 (22% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  GYEC
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 30, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Narnack Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.102
4 stars out of 5 - "[T]he 24-year-old's razor-like keen takes in everything from Foggy Mountain breakdown to freewheelin' Fred Neil-isms..."
Magnet - p.117
"[The songs] show a jaunty, determined sense of songwriting..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.60
Ranked #8 in Mojo's "Top Ten Underground Albums Of 2005."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.98
4 stars out of 5 - "[I]mbued with vitality and life by Langhorne's unique vocal chords, his winning way around words and a talent which suggests he's only just getting warmed up here."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.In the Midnight
  • 2.Set Em Up
  • 3.Mary
  • 4.Sisterhood
  • 5.The Electric Love Letter
  • 6.And If Its True
  • 7.Hanshaw Shuffle (Drunken Horse)
  • 8.Drowning
  • 9.I Ain't Proud
  • 10.Loretta Lee Jones
  • 11.By the Time the Sun's Gone Down
  • 12.Hope and Fulfillment
  • 13.I Will
  • 14.Checking Out
  • 15.I Love To Dance

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Catching Fireflies
  • 2.Crazy Elephant
  • 3.She Played Piano
  • 4.I've Been All Around
  • 5.Ammunition

Product Description:

This is a deluxe two-disc reissue of the Brooklyn-based bluegrass and folk revivalist Langhorne Slim's well-received 2005 album, adding five unreleased tracks to the original's 15. The preternaturally gifted songsmith plays with both heart and talent on his sleeve, with real enthusiasm (and no traces of opportunism) for the bluegrass sound. And WHEN THE SUN'S GONE DOWN might well be his best all-around collection: there's the usual flying-finger banjo and steel-string virtuosity on tracks like "In the Midnight" and "And If Its True," beautiful high-range vocal trills on "Mary," and touching ballads like "Checking Out," among many other highlights.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Langhorne Slim

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 118,905
  • UPC: 825807704728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.48/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)