Dead Kennedys Live at the Deaf Club 1979

Live at the Deaf Club 1979
Rating 4.1
19 ratings
Your Price: $15.11
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  BIZ 42908
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: April 13, 2010
  • Label: Manifesto Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.114
3 stars out of 5 - "[A] pretty exceptional find for archivists....[With] early versions of their most famous tunes..."


  • 1.Introduction
  • 2.Kill the Poor - (disco version)
  • 3.Back in Rhodesia - (early version of When You Get Drafted)
  • 4.Man With the Dogs
  • 5.Gaslight - (previously unreleased)
  • 6.California šber Allies
  • 7.Ill in the Head
  • 8.Straight A's - (Different Mix)
  • 9.Short Songs - (Different Mix)
  • 10.Holiday in Cambodia
  • 11.Police Truck
  • 12.Foward to Death
  • 13.Have I the Right
  • 14.Back in the U.S.S.R.
  • 15.Viva Las Vegas

Product Description:

The Dead Kennedys: Klaus Flouride (vocals, bass); Jello Biafra (vocals); East Bay Ray, 6025 (guitar); Ted (drums).
Personnel: Jello Biafra, Klaus Flouride (vocals); East Bay Ray (guitar).
Audio Mixer: East Bay Ray.
Recording information: Deaf Club (03/03/1979).
Photographer: Sue Brisk.
Maybe the greatest tribute you can pay a live album is to think to yourself, "I wish I'd been there." Live at the Deaf Club is precisely that kind of live album. Recorded in San Francisco in March 1979, this is the DKs at their peak as the short sharp-shock punksters with brains as well as attitude -- not to mention a sharp collective sense of humor. Fronted by legendary smart-ass agitator Jello Biafra, this five-piece Dead Kennedys lineup (Jello, East Bay Ray, Klaus Flouride, and Ted, with guitarist 6025 playing his last gig with the band) blazes through a mighty set that includes such killer material as "California šber Alles," "Kill the Poor," "Holiday in Cambodia," and the surreal encore numbers "Back in the U.S.S.R." and "Viva Las Vegas." There's also a previously unreleased track, "Gaslight." Plenty of atmosphere and sizzling repartee, this is entertainment and punk history in one neat, sweetly subversive package. You'll wish you'd been there. ~ Adrian Zupp

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.1
Based on 19 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Dead Kennedys

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 102,379
  • UPC: 767004290829
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item