Louis Jordan Louis Jordan & His Tympani Five [JSP] (5-CD)

Louis Jordan & His Tympani Five [JSP] (5-CD)
18 ratings
Sale: $26.09
SUPER SAVINGS: $24.26 Limited Time Only
List Price: $28.99
You Save: $4.73 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  VVD9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: June 18, 2001
  • Label: Jsp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Honey in the Bee Ball
  • 2.Barnacle Bill the Sailor
  • 3.Flat Face
  • 4.Keep a Knockin'
  • 5.Sam Jones Done Snagged His Britches
  • 6.Swingin' in a Coconut Tree
  • 7.Doug the Jitterbug
  • 8.At the Swing Cat's Ball
  • 9.Jake, What a Snake
  • 10.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 11.'Fore Day Blues
  • 12.But I'll Be Back
  • 13.You Ain't Nowhere
  • 14.You're My Meat
  • 15.June Tenth Jamboree
  • 16.You Run Your Mouth and I'll Run My Business
  • 17.I'm Alabama Bound
  • 18.Somebody Done Hoodooed the Hoodoo Man
  • 19.Bounce the Ball (Do da Dittle Um Day)
  • 20.Penthouse in the Basement
  • 21.After School Swing Session (Swinging With Symphony, Sid)
  • 22.Oh Boy, I'm in the Groove
  • 23.Never Let Your Left Hand Know What Your Right Hand's Doin'
  • 24.Don't Come Cryin' on My Shoulder
  • 25.Waiting for the Robert E. Lee
  • 26.A Chicken Ain't Nothin' But a Bird
  • 27.Pompton Turnpike
  • 28.Do You Call That a Buddy? (Dirty Cat)
  • 29.I Know You (I Know What You Wanna Do)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Pinetop's Boogie Woogie
  • 2.Two Little Squirrels, The (Nuts to You)
  • 3.T-Bone Blues
  • 4.Pan-Pan
  • 5.Saint Vitus Dance
  • 6.Saxa-Woogie
  • 7.Brotherly Love (Wrong Ideas)
  • 8.Boogie Woogie Came to Town
  • 9.How 'Bout That?
  • 10.Mama, Mama Blues (Rusty Dusty Blues)
  • 11.Knock Me a Kiss
  • 12.The Green Grass Grows All Around
  • 13.Small Town Boy
  • 14.I'm Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town
  • 15.What's the Use of Getting Sober (When You're Gonna Get Drunk Again)?
  • 16.The Chicks I Pick Are Slender, Tender and Tall
  • 17.I'm Gonna Leave You on the Outskirts of Town
  • 18.That'll Just About Knock Me Out
  • 19.Five Guys Named Moe
  • 20.It's a Low Down Dirty Shame
  • 21.Ration Blues
  • 22.Is You Is or Is You Ain't My Baby?
  • 23.Deacon Jones
  • 24.I Like 'Em Fat Like That
  • 25.Mop! Mop!
  • 26.G.I. Jive
  • 27.You Can't Get That No More

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.My Baby Said Yes (Yip, Yip de Hootie)
  • 2.Your Socks Don't Match
  • 3.Buzz Me
  • 4.Caldonia Boogie
  • 5.Somebody Done Changed the Lock on My Door
  • 6.How Long Must I Wait for You?
  • 7.Salt Pork, West Virginia
  • 8.Don't Worry 'Bout That Mule
  • 9.Stone Cold Dead in the Market (He Had It Coming)
  • 10.Petootie Pie
  • 11.Recoversion Blues
  • 12.It's So Easy
  • 13.Beware, Brother, Beware
  • 14.Don't Let the Sun Catch You Crying
  • 15.Choo Choo Ch'Boogie
  • 16.Ain't That Just Like a Woman
  • 17.That Chick's Too Young to Fry
  • 18.No Sale
  • 19.If It's Love You Want Baby, That's Me
  • 20.Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens
  • 21.Let the Good Times Roll
  • 22.All for the Love of Lil
  • 23.Texas and Pacific
  • 24.Jack, You're Dead!
  • 25.Reet Petite and Gone
  • 26.Sure Had a Wonderful Time
  • 27.I Know What You're Putting Down

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Friendship
  • 2.Open the Door, Richard
  • 3.Boogie Woogie Blue Plate
  • 4.Barnyard Boogie
  • 5.Every Man to His Own Profession
  • 6.Early in the Morning
  • 7.Run Joe
  • 8.Look Out
  • 9.Have You Got the Gumption?
  • 10.We Can't Agree
  • 11.Chicky-Mo, Craney-Crow
  • 12.Roamin' Blues
  • 13.Inflation Blues
  • 14.You're Much Too Fat (And That's That)
  • 15.Pettin' and Pokin'
  • 16.You're on the Right Track, Baby
  • 17.Don't Burn the Candle at Both Ends
  • 18.Why'd You Do It Baby?
  • 19.Daddy-O
  • 20.Safe, Sane and Single
  • 21.I Know What I've Got, Don't Know What I'm Getting
  • 22.You Broke Your Promise
  • 23.Push-Ka Pee-Shee Pie (The Saga of Saga Boy)
  • 24.Cole Slaw
  • 25.Beans and Corn Bread

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Onion
  • 2.Baby's Gonna Go, Bye-Bye
  • 3.Heed My Warning
  • 4.Psycho-Loco
  • 5.Baby, It's Cold Outside
  • 6.Don't Cry, Cry, Baby
  • 7.School Days (When We Were Kids)
  • 8.Hungry Man
  • 9.Saturday Night Fish Fry
  • 10.I Want a Roof Over My Head
  • 11.Show Me How (You Milk the Cow)
  • 12.Blue Light Boogie
  • 13.Ain't Nobody's Business But My Own
  • 14.I'll Never Be Free
  • 15.Tamburitza Boogie
  • 16.(You Dyed Your Hair) Chartreuse
  • 17.Lemonade
  • 18.It's a Great, Great Pleasure
  • 19.You Will Always Have a Friend
  • 20.Trouble Then Satisfaction
  • 21.Life Is So Peculiar
  • 22.You Rascal You
  • 23.Teardrops from My Eyes

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Louis Jordan (vocals, clarinet, alto, tenor & baritone saxophones); Yack Taylor, Daisy Winchester, Mabel Robinson, Bing Crosby, Ella Fitzgerald, Martha Davis (vocals); Carl Hogan, Bill Jennings (electric guitar); Stafford Simon (flute, clarinet, tenor saxophone); Lem Johnson, Kenneth Holt (clarinet, tenor saxophone); James Wright, Josh Jackson (tenor saxophone); Courtney Williams, Freddy Webster, Eddie Roane, Aaron Izenhall, Bob Mitchell, Harold Mitchell (trumpet); Clarence Johnson, Arnold Thomas, Wild Bill Davis, Bill Doggett, Hank Jones (piano); Charlie Drayton, Henry Turner, Jesse Simpkins, Dallas Bartley, Al Morgan, Bob Bushnell, Billy Hadnott (bass); Walter Martin, Rossiere Wilson, Joe Morris (drums).
Recorded between 1938 & 1950.
Personnel: Kenneth Hollon (vocals, clarinet, tenor saxophone); Louis Armstrong (vocals, trumpet); Ella Fitzgerald, Mabel Robinson, Daisy Winchester, Bing Crosby (vocals); Bill Jennings (electric guitar, claves); James "Ham" Jackson, John Collins, Carl Hogan (electric guitar); Stafford Simon (flute, clarinet, tenor saxophone); Freddie Simon, Lem Johnson (clarinet, tenor saxophone); James Wright , Josh Jackson (tenor saxophone); Freddy Webster, Leonard Graham, Courtney Williams, Aaron Izenhall, Eddie Roane, Bob Mitchell (trumpet); Hank Jones , Arnold Thomas, William Austin, Wild Bill Davis, Bill Doggett (piano); Eddie Boyd, Rossiere "Shadow" Wilson, Wilmore Slick Jones, Joe Morris , Walter Martin, Alex Mitchell , Charlie Smith (drums); Calypso Boys (claves, maracas); Vic Lourie (claves); Harry Dialmaracas (maracas).
Liner Note Author: Louisa Hufstader.
Recording information: Los Angeles, CA (03/29/1938-12/21/1950); New York, NY (03/29/1938-12/21/1950).

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 18 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Louis Jordan

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 67,090
  • UPC: 788065900526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.95/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)