Big Bill Broonzy Volume 3: The War and Post War Years 1940-51 (4-CD)

Volume 3: The War and Post War Years 1940-51
Price: $26.08
List Price: $28.98
You Save: $2.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  VVCK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: February 12, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Jsp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Medicine Man Blues
  • 2.Looking up at Down
  • 3.Midnight Steppers
  • 4.Lone Wolf Blues
  • 5.Hit the Right Lick
  • 6.You Better Cut That Out
  • 7.I Wonder What's Wrong With Me
  • 8.Bed Time Blues
  • 9.Merry Go Round Blues
  • 10.Serenade Blues
  • 11.Lonesome Road Blues
  • 12.Getting Older Every Day - (Take 1)
  • 13.Getting Older Every Day - (Take 2)
  • 14.That Number of Mine
  • 15.My Gal Is Gone
  • 16.I'll Never Dream Again
  • 17.Rockin' Chair Blues
  • 18.Shine On, Shine On
  • 19.Green Grass Blues
  • 20.My Little Flower
  • 21.Sweet Honey Bee
  • 22.When I Been Drinking
  • 23.Key to the Highway
  • 24.Double Trouble
  • 25.Going Back to My Plow

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I'm Having So Much Trouble
  • 2.Wee Wee Hours
  • 3.Conversation With the Blues
  • 4.All by Myself
  • 5.Keep Your Hand on Your Heart
  • 6.Why Should I Spend My Money
  • 7.What's Wrong With Me
  • 8.I Feel So Good
  • 9.In the Army Now
  • 10.Bad Acting Woman
  • 11.Night Watchman Blues
  • 12.She's Gone With the Wind
  • 13.I'm Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town
  • 14.Tell Me Baby
  • 15.Hard Hearted Woman
  • 16.I'm Woke up Now
  • 17.Please Believe Me
  • 18.Why Did You Do That to Me
  • 19.You Got to Play Your Hand
  • 20.Just a Dream
  • 21.Doing the Best I Can
  • 22.Partnership Woman
  • 23.Where the Blues Began
  • 24.Humble Blues
  • 25.Oh Baby

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Cell No. 13 Blues
  • 2.When I Got to Thinkin'
  • 3.Roll Dem Bones
  • 4.You Got the Best Go
  • 5.I Can Fix It
  • 6.Old Man Blues
  • 7.I Can't Write
  • 8.What Can I Do
  • 9.San Antonio Blues
  • 10.Saturday Evening Blues
  • 11.Martha Blues
  • 12.Texas Tornado Blues
  • 13.Big Bill's Boogie
  • 14.Just Rocking
  • 15.Shoo Blues
  • 16.I Feel Like Crying
  • 17.Stop Lying Woman
  • 18.Rambling Bill
  • 19.Summertime Blues
  • 20.Bad Luck Man
  • 21.Wonderin' Man (I'm A)
  • 22.I Love My Whiskey
  • 23.You've Been Mistreating Me
  • 24.I Stay Blue All the Time
  • 25.Water Coast Blues

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Five Feet Seven
  • 2.I Wonder
  • 3.Keep Your Hands Off Her
  • 4.Mindin' My Own Business
  • 5.Hey Hey
  • 6.Stump Blues
  • 7.Willie Mae Blues
  • 8.Walkin' the Lonesome Road
  • 9.Mopper's Blues
  • 10.I Know She Will
  • 11.Hollerin' the Blues
  • 12.Leavin' Day
  • 13.South Bound Train
  • 14.Tomorrow
  • 15.You Changed
  • 16.John Henry
  • 17.Crawdad
  • 18.Bill Bailey
  • 19.Make My Get Away
  • 20.Blue Tail Fly
  • 21.Backwater Blues
  • 22.In the Evenin'
  • 23.Trouble in Mind

Product Description:

Personnel: Big Bill Broonzy (vocals, guitar); Memphis Slim (vocals, piano); Jazz Gillum (harmonica); Antonio Casey, Oett "Sax" Mallard, Buster Bennett (alto saxophone); Don Byas, Bill Casimir (tenor saxophone); Add John Morton, Punch Miller, John H. Morton (trumpet); Carl Sharp, Horace Malcolm, Charles Belcher, Kenny Watts, Joshua Altheimer, Big Maceo Merriweather, Blind John Davis, Bob Call (piano); Fred Williams , Tyrell Dixon, Alfred Wallace, Judge Riley, Slick Jones (drums); Washboard Sam (washboard).
Recording information: Chicago, IL (06/10/1940-12/10/1951); New York, NY (06/10/1940-12/10/1951).
This budget-priced four-CD best-of highlights the versatile latter-day career of the popular blues singer Big Bill Broonzy in the years during and immediately after World War Two. The influence of his early years singing the field hollers and playing in the juke joints of his native Mississippi is apparent in the early piano-accompanied songs on this collection, such as "Looking Up at Down" and "Rockin' Chair Blues," while his later, more urban-oriented material is represented by "Big Bill's Boogie" and "You've Been Mistreatin' Me," where he's accompanied by a small R&B combo.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Big Bill Broonzy

Product Info

  • UPC: 788065776725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.84/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)