Big Bill Broonzy 1937-1940, Volume 2 (4-CD Box Set)

1937-1940, Volume 2 (4-CD Box Set)
1 rating
Price: $27.34
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  VVCJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Jsp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.You Do Me Any Old Way - (take 1)
  • 2.You Do Me Any Old Way - (Take 2)
  • 3.Down in the Alley - (Take 1)
  • 4.Down in the Alley - (Take 2)
  • 5.Stuff They Call Money
  • 6.Louise, Louise Blues - (Take 1)
  • 7.Louise, Louise Blues - (Take 2)
  • 8.Let Me Be Your Winder
  • 9.Hattie Blues - (Take 1)
  • 10.Hattie Blues - (Take 2)
  • 11.My Old Lizzie
  • 12.Come Home Early - (take 1)
  • 13.Come Home Early - (Take 2)
  • 14.Come Home Early - (Take 3)
  • 15.Come Home Early - (Take 4)
  • 16.My Gal Is Gone
  • 17.Evil Hearted Me
  • 18.I Want My Hands on It - (Take 1)
  • 19.I Want My Hands on It - (Take 2)
  • 20.It's Too Late Now - (Take 1)
  • 21.It's Too Late Now - (Take 2)
  • 22.Make a Date with an Angel (Got No Walking Shoes) - (Take 1)
  • 23.Make a Date with an Angel (Got No Walking Shoes) - (Take 2)
  • 24.Play Your Hand
  • 25.Hattie Blues - (Take 3)
  • 26.Somebody's Go to Go

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Good Boy
  • 2.I Want You by My Side
  • 3.Border Blues
  • 4.Sweetheart Land
  • 5.It's a Low Down Dirty Shame
  • 6.Got to Get Ready Tonight
  • 7.Trucking Little Woman
  • 8.Unemployment Stomp
  • 9.Why Do You Do That to Me
  • 10.It's Your Time Now
  • 11.I'll Start Cutting on You
  • 12.Sad Letter Blues
  • 13.The Mill Man Blues
  • 14.I'll Do Anything for You
  • 15.Sad Pencil Blues
  • 16.New Shake-Em on Down
  • 17.Night Time Is the Right Time No. 2
  • 18.Let Me Dig It
  • 19.W.P.A. Rag
  • 20.Going Back to Arkansas
  • 21.Rider Rider Blues
  • 22.Living on Easy Street
  • 23.Good Time Tonight
  • 24.Trouble and Lying Woman
  • 25.I'll Believe I'll Go Back Home

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Flat Foot Susie with Her Flat Yes Yes
  • 2.Trucking Little Woman
  • 3.Hell Ain't But a Mile and a Quarter
  • 4.Don't You Lay It on Me
  • 5.Done Got Wise
  • 6.Louise, Louise
  • 7.Spreadin' Snake Blues
  • 8.Baby Don't You Remember
  • 9.Whiskey and Good Time Blues
  • 10.Baby I Done Got Wise
  • 11.Preachin' the Blues
  • 12.Just a Dream (On My Mind)
  • 13.Fightin' Little Rooster
  • 14.Mary Blues
  • 15.You Can't Sell 'Em in Here
  • 16.Just Got to Hold You Tight - (Take 1)
  • 17.Just Got to Hold You Tight - (Take 2)
  • 18.Just Wondering
  • 19.Keep on A-Smilin'
  • 20.She Never
  • 21.Woodie Woodie
  • 22.Too Many Drivers
  • 23.You Can't Win
  • 24.Ride, Alberta, Ride
  • 25.That's All Right, Baby

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Please Be My So and So
  • 2.I.C. Blues
  • 3.Cotton Choppin' Blues
  • 4.Hot Dog Mama
  • 5.Dreamy Eyed Baby
  • 6.My Last Goodbye to You
  • 7.Don't You Want to Ride
  • 8.Don't You Be No Fool
  • 9.Just a Dream No. 2
  • 10.Tell Me What I Done
  • 11.Oh Yes
  • 12.I'm Still You Sweetheart, Baby
  • 13.Down and Lost in Mind
  • 14.Let's Have a Little Fun
  • 15.Messed Up in Love
  • 16.Plow Hand Blues
  • 17.Jivin' Mr. Fuller Blues
  • 18.Make My Getaway
  • 19.Looking for My Baby
  • 20.I've Got to Dig You
  • 21.Leap Year Blues
  • 22.When I Had Money
  • 23.You Got to Hit the Right Lick
  • 24.What Is That She Got
  • 25.Merry Go Round Blues - (Take 1)

Product Description:

Personnel: Big Bill Broonzy (vocals, guitar); Washboard Sam (vocals); George Barnes (guitar); Odell Rand (clarinet); Buster Bennett (alto saxophone); Alfred Bell, Punch Miller (trumpet); Aletha Robinson, Black Bob Hudson, Joshua Altheimer, Albert Ammons, Blind John Davis (piano); Fred Williams (drums).
Liner Note Author: Neil Slaven.
Recording information: Carnegie Hall, New York, NY (01/31/1937-04/17/1940); Chicago, IL (01/31/1937-04/17/1940).
The second volume in JSP's Big Bill Broonzy retrospective is four discs long, covering the bluesman's years in Chicago and New York. What is astonishing is that there are 100 tracks here. While it's true that there are many alternate takes for the sake of the historical record, nonetheless, when combined with volume one, this accounts for a prolific output by the singer and guitarist. Each disc is fully annotated with session information. Some of the musicians on these sessions include Blind John Davis, Washboard Sam, Punch Miller, Black Bob, and Ransom Knowling. The sound is good to very good indeed, as the music here has been completely remastered. Presentation is sparse but more than serviceable, and as always with JSP, the price is excellent. Neil Slaven wrote biographical liner notes for the set.. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Big Bill Broonzy

Product Info

  • UPC: 788065775025
  • Shipping Weight: 0.78/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)