The Legendary Sounds of Sun Studios (3-CD)
by Various Artists

The Legendary Sounds of Sun Studios (3-CD)
1 rating
Price: $24.28
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  Q75C
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 31, 2006
  • Label: Metro Music

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Rocket 88 - Jackie Brenston
  • 2.When it Rains it Pours - Billy "The Kid" Emerson
  • 3.Booted! - Rosco Gordon
  • 4.Dixie Fried - Carl Perkins
  • 5.Whirlwind - Charlie Rich
  • 6.Red Hot - Billy Lee Riley
  • 7.Just Walkin' In the Rain - The Prisonaires
  • 8.Gospel Train - The Jones Brothers
  • 9.Walk That Lonesome Valley - Million Dollar Quartet
  • 10.Drinkin' Wind Spo - Dee - O - Dee - Malcolm Yelvington
  • 11.Rockhouse - Roy Orbison
  • 12.Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin On - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 13.Flying Saucers Rock N'Roll - Billy Lee Riley
  • 14.Miss Froggie - Warren Smith
  • 15.Raunchy - Bill Justis
  • 16.Sitting By My Window - The Five Tinos
  • 17.Juiced - Billy Love
  • 18.Great Balls of Fire - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 19.Ubangi Stomp - Warren Smith
  • 20.Ooby Dooby - Roy Orbison
  • 21.Don't Be Cruel - Million Dollar Quartet
  • 22.Mona Lisa - Carl Mann

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Defrost Your Heart - Charlie Feathers
  • 2.Howlin' Tom Cat - Harmonica Frank Floyd
  • 3.Folsom Prison Blues - Johnny Cash
  • 4.Blackland Farmer - Sleepy LaBeef
  • 5.Runnin' Around - Charlie Feathers
  • 6.Pool Shark - Dave Dudley
  • 7.Who Will the Next Fool Be - Charlie Rich
  • 8.Thanks A Lot - Jeanne Newman
  • 9.Blue Suede Shoes - Carl Perkins
  • 10.Girl Most Likely - Jeannie C. Riley
  • 11.Where the Old Red River Flows - Jimmie Davis
  • 12.Southbound Line - Tracy Pendarvis and the Swampers
  • 13.In the Jailhouse Now - Webb Pierce
  • 14.Sweet Country - Dane Stinit
  • 15.My Kind of Carryin' On - Doug Poindexter & the Starlite Wranglers
  • 16.Jump Right Out of this Jukebox - Onie Wheeler
  • 17.Two Young Fools In Love - Barbara Pittman
  • 18.I Walk the Line - Johnny Cash
  • 19.How Long - Maggie Sue Wimberley
  • 20.Another - Roy Drusky
  • 21.Feelin' Low - Ernie Chaffin

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Mystery Train - Little Junior's Blue Flames
  • 2.Bear Cat - Rufus Thomas
  • 3.How Many More Years - Howlin'Wolf
  • 4.The Boogie Disease - Dr. Ross
  • 5.Easy - Jimmy & Walter
  • 6.Sweet Home Chicago - David 'Honeyboy' Edwards
  • 7.Just Come On Home - Frank Frost
  • 8.Policy Man Blues - Sleepy John Estes
  • 9.Cotton Crop Blues - James Cotton
  • 10.Blue Guitar - Earl Hooker
  • 11.We All Gotta Go Sometime - Joe Hill Louis
  • 12.I'm Gonna Murder My Baby - Pat Hare
  • 13.Seems Like A Million Years - Willie Nix
  • 14.So Long Baby, Goodbye - Sammy Lewis & Willie Johnson
  • 15.Time Has Made a Change - Jimmy De Berry
  • 16.She May be Yours - Joe Hill Louis
  • 17.If You Love Me Baby - Little Milton
  • 18.Feelin' Good - Little Junior's Blue Flames
  • 19.Come Back Baby - Dr. Ross
  • 20.The Wolf Is At Your Door - Howlin' Wolf
  • 21.The Last Time - Woodrow Adams
  • 22.Tiger Man (King of the Jungle) - Rufus Thomas

Product Description:

All too often, the incredible legacy of Sun Records is boiled down to five names: Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash, Roy Orbison, Carl Perkins and Jerry Lee Lewis. There's good reason for that, of course, but they are far from the whole story. Several other box sets in various configurations have attempted to drive that point home, but this British three-disc summation does so in a clear and concise manner that ultimately serves to emphasize the others' contributions. Rather than lay out the history of Sam Phillips' label chronologically, the compilers broke Sun's output up into three categories that they dub "Rockin'," "Cotton Crop Country" and "Beale Street Blues." Three of the aforementioned rock & roll architects can be found on disc one (Elvis, unnamed on the packaging, and Cash turn up only as members of the Million Dollar Quartet), but some of the real stars are the ones whose names don't shine quite as brightly: Jackie Brenston, whose "Rocket 88" is considered by some to be the first rock & roll record; Charlie Rich, Bill Justis ("Raunchy") and the wild Billy Lee Riley ("Flying Saucers Rock 'n' Roll). The second disc is given over to those mainstream honky-tonkers that found their way to 706 Union in Memphis, some of whom enjoyed greater fame elsewhere (Webb Pierce, Jeannie C. Riley, Dave Dudley, Cash), others whose moment in the sun, so to speak, began and ended right here. And then there's disc three, which spotlights the blues titans who Phillips championed, often when no one else would: most notably Howlin' Wolf, but also the great Rufus Thomas (who would soon be instrumental in establishing another crucial Memphis label, Stax), Little Milton and James Cotton. Even this set doesn't tell the entire Sun story, but it provides considerably more than a cursory glimpse. ~ Jeff Tamarkin

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 698458332325
  • Shipping Weight: 0.63/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)