Marty Grosz Keep a Song in Your Soul

Keep a Song in Your Soul
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $14.38
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.95 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $3.03 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  F2S5
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 18, 1994
  • Label: Jazzology


  • 1.Sentimental Gentleman from Georgia
  • 2.He Ain't Got Rhythm
  • 3.I've Got to Sing a Torch Song
  • 4.Hot Lips
  • 5.I've Got a Crush on You
  • 6.Georgia Jubilee
  • 7.Snuggled on Your Shoulder
  • 8.Keep a Song in Your Soul
  • 9.Little White Lies
  • 10.From Monday On
  • 11.Love Will Find a Way
  • 12.Cheerful Little Earful
  • 13.Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man
  • 14.By the Fireside
  • 15.You Can't Stop Me for Lovin' You
  • 16.You Came to My Rescue

Product Description:

Personnel: Marty Grosz (vocals, guitar); Daniel Block (clarinet, alto saxophone); Bobby Gordon (clarinet); Dan Levinson (alto saxophone, C-melody saxophone); Scott Robinson (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Peter Ecklund (trumpet); Chris Dawson, Keith Ingham (piano); Hal Smith , Arnie Kinsella (drums).
Liner Note Author: Marty Grosz.
Recording information: New York, NY (09/??/1994-10/19/1994); Newport Beach, CA (09/??/1994-10/19/1994).
Marty Grosz is quite notable in at least three ways. He is one of the top (and one of the few) rhythm acoustic guitarists, and his chordal solos are always delightful. He sings in a Fats Waller-inspired style. And Grosz is one of jazz's top comedians, able to spin out hilarious, sometimes nonsensical monologues. Two of his three talents are heard on this CD, although he should record a comedy album someday. Grosz leads two different groups during the 1994 sessions. One band has the members of his Orphan Newsboys (trumpeter Peter Ecklund, clarinetist Bobby Gordon, and bassist Greg Cohen) along with the reeds of Dan Levinson, pianist Chris Dawson, and drummer Hal Smith. The other half of this set features Ecklund, Cohen, trombonist Joel Helleny (whose plunger work is outstanding), Dan Block on clarinet and alto, Scott Robinson on tenor and baritone, pianist Keith Ingham, and drummer Artie Kinsella. The repertoire is dominated by obscurities from the '20s and '30s, with a couple of standards tossed in. Grosz sings on half of the songs. Highlights include "Sentimental Gentleman From Georgia," a cooking version of "Hot Lips," "From Monday On," and "Love Will Find a Way." This is a spirited and enjoyable outing, well worth picking up by hot jazz fans. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Marty Grosz

Product Info

  • UPC: 762247625025
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)