The Classic Jazz Quartet The Classic Jazz Quartet (2-CD)

The Classic Jazz Quartet (2-CD)
1 rating
Price: $28.78
List Price: $31.98
You Save: $3.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  36XFV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 11, 1984
  • Label: Jazzology

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - 11/96, p.112
"...The emphatic synergy evidenced in these recordings is of rare, high caliber..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Rose of the Rio Grande
  • 2.Chloe
  • 3.I Wish I Were Twins
  • 4.I'll Never Be the Same
  • 5.Doin' the Gotham Game
  • 6.Inka Dinka Doo
  • 7.Mississippi Mud
  • 8.Melody From the Sky, A - (from "The Trial Of The Lonesome Pine")
  • 9.You're Driving Me Crazy
  • 10.Blue River
  • 11.Dr. Heckle and Mr. Jibe
  • 12.Empty Penthouse Blues
  • 13.Hallelujah
  • 14.Until the Real Thing Comes Along
  • 15.Sherman's Folly
  • 16.Happy Feet - (from "King Of Jazz")

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Freeze and Melt
  • 2.It's the Mood That I'm In
  • 3.Strut, Miss Lizzie - (from "Ziegfeld Follies")
  • 4.There's a Cabin in the Pines
  • 5.Wouldn't It Be Loverly - (from "My Fair Lady")
  • 6.Chinatown, My Chinatown
  • 7.Hustlin' and Bustlin' For Baby
  • 8.Home No More
  • 9.Sugar Foot Strut
  • 10.It's the Girl
  • 11.Mean Ol' Bedbug Blues
  • 12.I Ain't Gonna Give Nobody None of My Jelly Roll
  • 13.Medusa
  • 14.Dollar Dance
  • 15.Wonderful One

Product Description:

The Classic Jazz Quartet: Dick Sudhalter (trumpet); Joe Muranyi (reeds); Dick Wellstood (piano); Marty Grosz (guitar, vocals).
Personnel: Marty Grosz (vocals, acoustic guitar); Joe Muranyi (clarinet, soprano saxophone); Dick Sudhalter (cornet); Dick Wellstood (piano).
Liner Note Authors: Dick Sudhalter; Dick Wellstood; Joe Muranyi; George H. Buck, Jr.; Marty Grosz.
Recording information: Live At A Party Helf by Mr. Kurtz at "June Farm", North (09/14/1984-03/23/1986); Seltzer Sound, New York, NY (09/14/1984-03/23/1986); The Vineyard Theatre, New York, NY (09/14/1984-03/23/1986).
Editors: Parker Dinkins; Malcolm Addey.
Photographer: Phil Harrington.
The Classic Jazz Quartet, which was comprised of cornetist Dick Sudhalter, Joe Muranyi on clarinet and soprano, pianist Dick Wellstood and Marty Grosz on acoustic guitar and occasional vocals, recorded two albums during its short existence, one apiece for Jazzology and Stomp Off. Wellstood's premature death in 1987 ended the band. This two-CD set not only has all of the music from the original albums but nine songs from a previously unreleased live session. The very complete two-fer is filled with brilliant small-group swing and classic jazz performances that reward repeated listenings. Among the many highlights (there are 31 selections in all) are "Rose of the Rio Grande," "I Wish I Were Twins," "Dr. Heckle and Mr. Jibe," "Strut, Miss Lizzie," "Sugar Foot Strut" and even "Inka Dinka Doo." Highly recommended to fans of vintage-style jazz. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 762247613824
  • Shipping Weight: 0.48/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)