Billy Butterfield Duet

1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Sale: $14.38
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.95 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $3.03 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  D4V2
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Jazzology


  • 1.Willow Weep For Me
  • 2.Ain't Misbehavin'
  • 3.Summertime
  • 4.You Can Depend on Me
  • 5.I've Got the World on a String
  • 6.Sunny Side of the Street
  • 7.Dear Old Southland
  • 8.It's a Wonderful World
  • 9.I've Got It Bad
  • 10.Rainy Day
  • 11.Keeping Out of Mischief Now

Product Description:

Personnel: Billy Butterfield (trumpet); Dick Wellstood (piano).
Recording information: 06/1973.
In 1973 the great swing/Dixieland trumpeter Billy Butterfield recorded a set of duets with the equally great stride pianist Dick Wellstood. Both of the musicians were still in their prime, which was impressive considering that Butterfield had already been a major musician for 35 years. Duets can be difficult because there is nowhere to hide, but in this case it was an obvious joy for the musicians. Wellstood's strong, two-handed style would have made the inclusion of a bass, a rhythm guitar, and drums a bit of a frivolity, and Butterfield's iron chops meant that he did not get weary easily either. Their renditions of a dozen standards plus a second version of "It's a Wonderful World" are full of spontaneity, logical improvising, and exciting moments with plenty of sparks flying. Highly recommended. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Billy Butterfield

Product Info

  • UPC: 762247617426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)