Barney Bigard Barney Bigard & the Pelican Trio

Barney Bigard & the Pelican Trio
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  D4SR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 10, 1994
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Jazzology


  • 1.Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams (And Dream Your Troubles Away)
  • 2.The Man I Love
  • 3.Don't Ge Around Much Anymore
  • 4.Wampum
  • 5.Rosetta
  • 6.Undecided
  • 7.Stardust
  • 8.Clarinet Gumbo
  • 9.My Funny Look' Baby
  • 10.Just You, Just Me
  • 11.World Is Waiting for the Sunrise
  • 12.Makin' Whoopee
  • 13.'S Wonderful

Product Description:

Personnel: Barney Bigard (clarinet, tenor saxophone).
Recording information: Hollywood, CA (1976).
Unknown Contributor Role: Barney Bigard.
Clarinetist Barney Bigard's final recording (cut four years before his death) is perhaps more notable for the name of his group and the cover drawing (of three pelicans playing jazz) than it is for the music. The performances of mostly swing standards (along with three standards) is fine, but the group (consisting of Bigard, pianist Duke Burrell and drummer Barry Martyn) would have certainly benefited from the inclusion of a bassist, while the three vocals (two by Burrell and one by Martyn) do not help much. In general, Bigard is in good form and, despite the lack of any real adventure, the music is pleasing and swinging. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Barney Bigard

Product Info

  • UPC: 762247622826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)