Alan Beechey Bright Stars of Jazz

Bright Stars of Jazz
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  D4SJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 20, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Jazzology


  • 1.It's Been So Long
  • 2.You're Laughing at Me
  • 3.Blue & Broken Hearted
  • 4.Sensation Rag
  • 5.Squeeze Me
  • 6.I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter
  • 7.What a Friend We Have in Jesus
  • 8.Christopher Columbus
  • 9.Painting the Town Red
  • 10.Indiana
  • 11.Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You
  • 12.Too Late (To Ask Forgiveness)
  • 13.Moanin' Low
  • 14.Royal Garden Blues

Product Description:

Personnel: Graham Hughes (trombone).
Recording information: 05/31/2004.
Usually when one acquires a Dixieland or trad jazz-style recording a decade or two before the new millennium, the musicians tend to be veterans at least in their forties, if not their sixties. British cornetist Alan Beechey's Bright Stars of Jazz is a happy exception, for most of the players are in their twenties or early thirties, with Beechey still just 29. More impressive than their youth is that the septet sounds very much like one of Eddie Condon's freewheeling Chicago jazz bands of the 1940s or '50s. Beechey does an expert Wild Bill Davison imitation on his feature "Blue & Broken Hearted," and sounds a bit like Billy Butterfield in other spots. Clarinetist Richie Howard ranges from Edmond Hall to Joe Marsala, trombonist Graham Hughes recalls Lou McGarity, and the four-piece rhythm section always swings happily. Julie McKee contributes five likable vocals and Beechey sings "Too Late to Ask Forgiveness." Most of the tunes are either Dixieland warhorses or swing standards. One could criticize the Bright Stars for not yet developing their own voices, but give them time. On this album, their renditions of such tunes as "It's Been So Long," "Sensation Rag," "Christopher Columbus," and "Royal Garden Blues" contain plenty of sparks and help keep the legacy of Eddie Condon's "Americondon" jazz alive. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 762247634621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)