Josh White From New York to London (2-CD)

From New York to London (2-CD)
3 ratings
Only 7 copies left
Sale: $17.09
SUPER SAVINGS: $15.75 Limited Time Only
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $3.24 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  36XE9
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 3, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Jasmine Music

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out
  • 2.Sometime
  • 3.John Henry
  • 4.Back Water Blues
  • 5.Watercress
  • 6.Josh and Bill Blues
  • 7.Dip His Finger in the Water
  • 8.Frankie and Johnny
  • 9.Jelly, Jelly
  • 10.Green Grass Growing All Around
  • 11.The Lass with the Delicate Air
  • 12.Waltzing Matilda
  • 13.Evil Hearted Man
  • 14.I Gave My Love a Cherry
  • 15.Lord Randall, My Son
  • 16.Molly Malone
  • 17.The House of the Risin' Sun
  • 18.Strange Fruit
  • 19.Jim Crow
  • 20.Good Morning Blues
  • 21.When the Sun Goes Down

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I'm Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town
  • 2.Take a Gal Like You
  • 3.Like a Natural Man
  • 4.Hard Time Blues
  • 5.The Foggy Dew
  • 6.The Lass with the Delicate Air
  • 7.I Want You and I Need You
  • 8.Free and Equal Blues, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 9.T. B. Blues
  • 10.On Top of Old Smokey
  • 11.Barbara Allen
  • 12.Lonesome Road
  • 13.Waltzing Matilda
  • 14.Apples, Peaches and Cherries
  • 15.Call Me Darling
  • 16.Molly Malone
  • 17.Wanderings
  • 18.He Never Said a Mumblin' Word
  • 19.Black Girl
  • 20.The Butterfly Song
  • 21.I Ain't Got Nothin' But the Blues

Product Description:

Full title: From New York To London: The Classic Recordings.
Personnel includes: Josh White, Sonny Terry, Brownie McGhee, Beverly White.
Personnel: Josh White (vocals, guitar); Stargazers (vocals); Chick Laval, Fitzroy Coleman, Brownie McGhee (guitar); Sonny Terry (harmonica); Steve Race (piano, celesta); Bill White, Norman Burns, J.C. Heard (drums).
Liner Note Author: Elijah Wald.
Recording information: London, England (03/23/1942-11/19/1951).
Arranger: Hill Bowen.
Josh White had a remarkable talent for self-reinvention, and his career -- which began in the 1920s and stretched essentially uninterrupted all the way into the '60s -- is an amazing story of adaptability and survival. Slick, sly, and fiercely intelligent, White became a sort of pre-Harry Belafonte black sex idol, complete with a leftist social and political agenda, during his so-called cabaret blues period in the late '40s, and when the McCarthy era led to his blacklisting, he rebounded into the folk revival period with several carefully assembled albums for Jac Holzman's Elektra label that recast him as a folk balladeer. Although some folk purists were aghast, doubting White's authenticity as a folk-blues performer (perhaps unaware of White's solid Piedmont blues background and his fine run of vintage blues 78s in the '30s), the fact remains that White was an excellent acoustic guitar player and a subtle and versatile singer who carefully selected his material, well aware of how it made him appear. This double-disc, 42-track set is drawn from White's cabaret period and features recordings he made in New York between 1944 and 1947 (disc one) and in London in 1950 and 1951 (disc two). The range of styles here is telling, as White rolls all manner of songs, from light gospel to small-combo jazz and blues, into a kind of folky high art. Among the highlights are a stark reading of Billie Holiday's "Strange Fruit" and White's small-combo jazz take on Casey Bill Weldon's classic "I'm Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town." Fiercely independent, and always in control of his own image in an era when black performers were seldom afforded that luxury, White helped pave the way for Belafonte, who followed the same sort of template to international stardom a mere half-dozen years after these recordings were made. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Josh White

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 119,763
  • UPC: 604988300420
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)