The Atkins-Travis Traveling Show / Reflections (2-CD)

The Atkins-Travis Traveling Show / Reflections
1 rating
Hurry! Only 1 copy left Sorry no back-orders
SALE: $20.68
List Price: $22.98
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  F2JJ
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 29, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Raven [Australia]


  • 1.Down South Blues
  • 2.Mutual Admiration
  • 3.Muskrat Ramble
  • 4.If I Had You
  • 5.Cannonball Rag
  • 6.Boogie for Cecil
  • 7.Is Anything Better Than This
  • 8.Dance of the Golden Rod
  • 9.Who's Sorry Now
  • 10.Nine Pound Hammer
  • 11.I'll See You in My Dreams
  • 12.Dill Pickle Rag
  • 13.Me and Chet Made a Record
  • 14.Flatt Did It
  • 15.Medley: Tennessee Rag / Beaumont Rag
  • 16.Medley: Texas Gales / Old Joe Clark
  • 17.You're Gonna Be Sorry
  • 18.Goodnight Waltz
  • 19.Don't Monkey 'Round My Widder
  • 20.Medley: Black and White / Ragtime Annie
  • 21.On My Way to Canaan's Land

Product Description:

Personnel: Chet Atkins (vocals, guitar); Doc Watson, Merle Travis (vocals, guitar); Jerry Reed, Jerry Shook (guitar); Michael Coleman (electric bass); Terry McMillan (percussion).
Liner Note Authors: Hugh Cherry; John D. Loudermilk.
Authors: Chet Atkins; Doc Watson.
Arranger: Chet Atkins.
A little surprisingly, although Chet Atkins and Merle Travis had played together before the January 1974 session resulting in The Atkins-Travis Traveling Show, they'd never done so for an official release. With producer Jerry Reed (himself no small country guitar legend) adding rhythm guitar on a few tracks, the duo ran through some old favorites ("Muskrat Ramble," "Cannonball Rag," Travis' own "Nine Pound Hammer"), pop standards ("Who's Sorry Now"), and even a couple Shel Silverstein songs on this low-key album. Neither Atkins nor Travis had anything to prove by the time this pairing rolled around, and there's something of an "old friends getting together for the heck of it" feel to both their picking and their relaxed, almost nonchalant occasional vocals. It was a refreshingly plain production for a time when the country scene in which Atkins and Travis had started as youngsters was getting pretty slick. At the same time, there's a lack of ambition to the endeavor that makes it a secondary curiosity in both men's catalogs, and certainly not one of the top places to start as showcases for their formidable abilities. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 71,197
  • UPC: 612657028629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)