Mildred Bailey Squeeze Me: Big Hits from a Great Lady

Squeeze Me: Big Hits from a Great Lady
10% OFF
Rating 5.0
1 rating
List Price: $15.99
Your Price: $14.39
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  Q3KA
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: August 29, 2000
  • Label: Jasmine Music


  • 1.Bob White
  • 2.Rockin' Chair
  • 3.St. Louis Blues
  • 4.Arkansas Blues
  • 5.Barrelhouse Blues
  • 6.'Tain't What You Do
  • 7.'Long About Midnight
  • 8.Is That Religion?
  • 9.Hold On
  • 10.Junk Man
  • 11.Peace, Brother!
  • 12.Ol' Pappy
  • 13.Squeeze Me
  • 14.Week End of a Private Secretary
  • 15.Someday Sweetheart
  • 16.Don't Be That Way
  • 17.I Thought About You
  • 18.There'll Be Some Changes Made
  • 19.A Ghost of a Chance
  • 20.Darn That Dream
  • 21.Always and Always
  • 22.I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm
  • 23.Gulf Coast Blues
  • 24.Rock It For Me

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Mildred Bailey (vocals).
Includes liner notes by Paul Pelletier.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
This is a terrific collection of Mildred Bailey sides from her prime years, 1933-1939. It is true that some, maybe many, would argue that the years she spent with Paul Whiteman (1929-1932) were her best ones, but these were the years she actually came to national prominence. The creativity in her vocal style was fully developed in 1933 when she began to take some chances while continuing to score hits and enjoy widespread success. The list of musicians who appeared in her backing orchestras at this time included Bunny Berigan , Mary Lou Williams, Grachan Moncur II, Teddy Wilson, Chu Berry, Cozy Cole, Coleman Hawkins, Fletcher Henderson, Jimmy Dorsey, Eddie Sauter, Johnny Hodges, and many others. The material here is basically knockout. Among the 24 cuts on this single disc are blues and jazz classics such as "Rockin Chair," "I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm," "Don't Be That Way," "Junk Man," "Barrelhouse Music," "'Taint What You Do (It's the Way That You Do It)," her unique reading of "I Don't Stand a Ghost of a Chance with You," and a terrific version of Fats Waller's wonderful nugget "Squeeze Me." Sound quality is fine for the period, the liner notes are fundamental but informational, and the price is absolutely right. Squeeze Me is a great place to start a Mildred Bailey collection. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Mildred Bailey

Product Info:

  • UPC: 604988256826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item