The Kings & Queens of Gospel (2-CD)
by Various Artists

The Kings & Queens of Gospel (2-CD)
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  AD67
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Label: Fuel 2000

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Morning Train - The Original Five Blind Boys of Alabama
  • 2.When the Gates Swing Open - The Soul Stirrers
  • 3.I'm Going with Jesus - The Original Five Blind Boys of Mississippi
  • 4.Yes God Is Real - The Harmonizing Four
  • 5.Run to Jesus - The Meadowlark Singers
  • 6.Jesus Prays - Mighty Stars Of Harmony
  • 7.I'm Going Down in Jesus' Name - Silver Gate Quartet
  • 8.Stand Up for Jesus - Traveling Echoes
  • 9.Serving the Lord - Rev. Willie Morganfield
  • 10.Born Again - The Violinaires
  • 11.What a Friend We Have in Jesus - Clarence Fountain
  • 12.Move Up a Little Higher - The Dixie Hummingbirds

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Lord Jesus - Inez Andrews
  • 2.Holy Spirit - Yolanda Adams
  • 3.It Pays to Serve Jesus - Albertina Walker & the Caravans
  • 4.Move Up a Little Higher - Mahalia Jackson
  • 5.Gospel Train, The - Sister Rosetta Tharpe
  • 6.Take My Hand Precious Lord - Aretha Franklin
  • 7.Hold On - Olivia Branch Walker
  • 8.Lord, Bring Me Down - Dorothy Norwood
  • 9.Glory, Glory - Vine Sisters
  • 10.My God, My Freedom, My Home - Fontella Bass
  • 11.Lord Here We Are Again - Yolanda Adams
  • 12.Grace - Sister Sadie & the Biblettes
  • 13.God So Loved the World - Albertina Walker
  • 14.Jehovah Is His Name - Inez Andrews
  • 15.Guess Who - Cassietta George

Product Description:

2 LPs on 2 CDs: KINGS OF GOSPEL (2004)/QUEENS OF GOSPEL (2003).
Each of the two albums, Kings of Gospel and Queens of Gospel, that together make up this box set was originally released as a single disc. Featuring hard-driving gospel from the 1960s and 1970s, both sets illustrate how close gospel can come to the energy and wallop of secular soul. Among the sizzling tracks on the Kings disc are the funky "Morning Train" by the Original Five Blind Boys of Alabama, the doo wop-tinged "When the Gates Swing Open" by the immortal Soul Stirrers, and a scalding rendition of "What a Friend We Have in Jesus" by Blind Boys of Alabama frontman Clarence Fountain, where Fountain sounds like a charged-up and sanctified James Brown. The Queens disc doesn't lower the praise and voltage one bit, with the incomparable Mahalia Jackson's "Move Up a Little Higher" and Sister Rosetta Tharpe's "The Gospel Train" (featuring Tharpe's sparse and spooky electric guitar) being particular delights. This is a pretty bare-bones package, with absolutely no liner notes or track information, but the music is so fiery and insistent that it hardly matters. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 030206148725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.45/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)