Mary Lou Williams Jazz in Paris: I Made You Love Paris

Jazz in Paris: I Made You Love Paris
Price: $10.79
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  F29G
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Emarcy Import


  • Buy for $0.991.Avalon
  • Buy for $0.992.Scratchin' in the Gravel
  • Buy for $0.993.Rock Me
  • Buy for $0.994.I Made You Love Paris
  • Buy for $0.995.Nancy Is in Love With the Colonel
  • Buy for $0.996.Swingin' for the Guys
  • Buy for $0.997.Club Français Blues
  • Buy for $0.998.Freight Train Blues
  • Buy for $0.999.Memories of You
  • Buy for $0.9910.Leg'n Lou
  • Buy for $0.9911.Mary Lou Blues
  • Buy for $0.9912.Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
  • Buy for $0.9913.There's a Small Hotel
  • Buy for $0.9914.En Ce Temps-Là
  • Buy for $0.9915.Lover
  • Buy for $0.9916.Carioca
  • Buy for $0.9917.Nicole
  • Buy for $0.9918.Tire Tire l'Aiguille
  • Buy for $0.9919.Autumn in New York

Product Description:

Personnel: Mary Lou Williams (piano); Ray Lawrence (tenor saxophone); Nelson Williams (trumpet); Buddy Banks (double bass); Jean-Louis Viale, Jacques (drums).
Liner Note Author: Alain Tercinet.
Recording information: Pathe-Pelouze Studio, Paris, France (01/14/1954).
Translator: Martin Davies.
Mary Lou Williams spent a fair amount of time in Europe in the early '50s, prior to a temporary hiatus from jazz. This CD from Verve's Jazz in Paris series compiles two separate sessions from 1954; one features a trio, a quintet, and a pair of vocals by blues singer Beryl Bryden, and the other is purely a trio. All of the selections are fairly brief, with only one running over three-and-a-half minutes. The first 11 songs are a bit of a mixed bag. The strongest tracks feature Williams alone ("I Made You Love Paris" and her "Club Francais Blues") or with her trio ("Avalon," "Swingin' for the Guys," and "Memories of You"). Weaker are the four tracks with trumpeter Nelson Williams and tenor saxophonist Ray Lawrence, who aren't up to the playing level of horn players who typically worked with the pianist, though bassist Buddy Banks somewhat makes up for their shortcomings by contributing an enjoyable original ("Leg'n Lou") and a strong solo. Least important is the pair of vocals by Bryden, including a cover of bluesman Piano Red's "Rock Me" and Trixie Smith's "Freight Train Blues." The eight tracks from the other session are more consistent. With Banks again in tow and drummer Jean-Louis Viale, Williams sounds more relaxed and less encumbered during a set that is heavily weighted with standards like "There's a Small Hotel," "Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea," "Lover," and "Autumn in New York." An obscure, oddly constructed blues by the pianist, "Nicole," is also well worth hearing. This is hardly among the best recordings from Williams' long career, but with a paucity of CD reissues of her work,
it still merits purchasing. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Mary Lou Williams

Product Info

  • UPC: 044001314124
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)