The Go-Go's God Bless The Go-Go's

God Bless The Go-Go's
10% OFF
Rating 4.4
139 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  EGLR 20056
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Eagle Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 7/19/01, p.52
3 stars out of 5 - "...This slick and listenable reunion album...doesn;t attempt to update the band's sound with hip-hop moves or electronic frippery, God bless ' sounds like vintage Go-Go's and manages to be consummately modern at the same time..."
Spin - 6/01, p.155
6 out of 10 - "...The production lunges out of the speakers and boxes your ears, and there are plenty of tart kiss-off could almost pass for a Rutles-style pastiche of vintage Go-Go's..."
Q - 12/01, p.135
3 stars out of 5 - "...A cute and respectable return..."
Uncut - 12/01, p.120
3 stars out of 5 - "...The surf-pop bubbles..."


  • Buy for $1.291.La la Land
  • Buy for $1.292.Unforgiven - (with Billie Joe Armstrong)
  • Buy for $1.293.Apology
  • Buy for $1.294.Stuck in My Car
  • Buy for $0.995.Vision of Nowness
  • Buy for $0.996.Here You Are
  • Buy for $0.997.Automatic Rainy Day
  • Buy for $0.998.Kissing Asphalt
  • Buy for $1.299.Insincere
  • Buy for $1.2910.Sonic Superslide
  • Buy for $1.2911.Throw Me a Curve
  • Buy for $0.9912.Talking Myself Down
  • Buy for $0.9913.Daisy Chain

Product Description:

The Go-Go's: Belinda Carlisle (vocals); Charlotte Caffey (guitar, piano, background vocals); Jane Wiedlin (guitar, background vocals); Kathy Valentine (bass guitar, background vocals); Gina Schock (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: Billie Joe Armstrong (vocals, guitar); Roger Manning (Mellotron).
All five original Go-Go's are back with their first album since 1984's TALK SHOW, but don't label this reunion a nostalgia trip. With GOD BLESS, the now-wiser quintet reaffirms itself as the premier female rock band. Produced by Paul Kolderie and Sean Slade (Hole's LIVE THROUGH THIS, Radiohead's THE BENDS), the album is tight throughout, replete with the pop hooks and harmonies for which the group is known. There are some all-out rockers ("Stuck in My Car"), but when the girls slow it down and add strings they deliver a top-notch ballad.
The theme of self-assertion and independence surfaces on "Unforgiven" and "Apology." The former may be the band's best single since "We Got The Beat;" a catchy, radio- friendly number co-written by Green Day's Billy Joe Armstrong (who also guests on guitar and vocals). "Apology" is a smooth-as-silk track that finds Belinda Carlisle proclaiming "I'm sorry...but I have no regrets." Leadoff cut "La La Land" proves that Ms. Carlisle has lost none of her vocal edge. GOD BLESS THE GO-GO's indeed.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 139 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Go-Go's

Product Info:

  • UPC: 826992005621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item