Merle Travis The Merle Travis Guitar

The Merle Travis Guitar
19% OFF
Rating 2.5
4 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $23.99
Sale Price: $21.59
CYBER SALE: $19.43 Limited Time Only
You Save: $4.56 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  RITO 2
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
We cannot guarantee delivery in time for Christmas
But it's not too late for a Gift Card or an e-mail Gift Certificate

CD Details

  • Released: February 16, 2009
  • Label: Righteous

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.97
4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he combination of electric and acoustic work makes this collection a must have for any fan of superlative guitar playing."


  • 1.Blue Smoke
  • 2.Black Diamond Blues
  • 3.On a Bicycle Built for Two
  • 4.Saturday Night Shuffle
  • 5.Bugle Call Rag
  • 6.Tuck Me Up in My Old 'Tucky Home
  • 7.Walkin' the Strings
  • 8.The Memphis Blues
  • 9.The Sheik of Araby
  • 10.Blue Bell
  • 11.The Waltz You Saved for Me
  • 12.Rockabye Rag
  • 13.Sweet Temptation
  • 14.No Vacancy
  • 15.Done Rovin'
  • 16.Nine Pound Hammer
  • 17.Sixteen Tons
  • 18.Blues, Stay Away from Me
  • 19.Dark as a Dungeon
  • 20.I Am a Pilgrim

Product Description:

Personnel: Merle Travis (vocals, guitar).
Liner Note Author: Dave Henderson.
Arranger: Merle Travis.
This 1956 album pretty much kicked off a revolution in guitar playing. Country guitar legend Merle Travis popularized the cross-pattern style of guitar playing that came to be known as "Travis picking," and this is the album that started his reputation rolling, influencing untold numbers of country, folk, and rock guitarists. And if that wasn't enough, the earlier tracks appended here as bonus cuts include some of his finest, most influential work as a songwriter ("Sixteen Tons," "Dark As a Dungeon").

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 2.5
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Merle Travis

Product Info:

  • UPC: 5013929980228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Country & Bluegrass genre: