Conway Twitty Looking Back: The Very Best of the MGM Years (2-CD)

Looking Back: The Very Best of the MGM Years
2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  VW24
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: November 11, 2002
  • Label: Rpm Records UK

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.It's Only Make Believe
  • 2.I'll Try
  • 3.I Vibrate (From My Head to My Feet)
  • 4.When I'm Not With You
  • 5.The Story of My Love
  • 6.Make Me Know You're Mine
  • 7.Mona Lisa
  • 8.Sentimental Journey
  • 9.Hey Little Lucy (Don'tcha Put No Lipstick On)
  • 10.Heavenly
  • 11.Just Because
  • 12.Danny Boy
  • 13.Hey Miss Ruby
  • 14.Lonely Blue Boy
  • 15.Blue Moon
  • 16.Foggy River
  • 17.Trouble in Mind
  • 18.Pretty Eyed Baby
  • 19.The Hurt in My Heart
  • 20.Tell Me One More Time

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.What Am I Living For?
  • 2.Knock Three Times
  • 3.What a Dream
  • 4.Is a Blue Bird Blue?
  • 5.The Flame
  • 6.Long Black Train
  • 7.Next Kiss, The (Is the Last Goodbye)
  • 8.A Tree in the Meadow
  • 9.A Man Alone
  • 10.Tower of Tears
  • 11.I Can Hear My Heart Break
  • 12.It's Driving Me Wild
  • 13.Portrait of a Fool
  • 14.There Is Something on Your Mind
  • 15.Looking Back
  • 16.It's Too Late
  • 17.Big Boss Man
  • 18.Don't Cry No More
  • 19.She Ain't No Angel
  • 20.Got My Mojo Working

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Gordon Fleming.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Conway Twitty; Mamie Van Doren; Bob Fisher .
For those who lack the cash or incentive to invest in Bear Family's mammoth eight-CD Rock 'N' Roll Years box set, this two-CD, 40-song overview of Conway Twitty's 1958-1963 MGM sides is a fine summary of his early career. Nearly all his Top Hundred chart hits are here, as are numerous flops, B-sides, and LP tracks. It's true that these were the most rock-oriented years of Twitty's long career, and also that many of these sides are derivative of early Elvis Presley. But it can also be said that of the singers who owed much to Elvis, Twitty was one of the best -- not just on hits like "It's Only Make Believe," "Lonely Blue Boy," and "Danny Boy," but also lesser-known items like the growling rockabilly-pop of "Make Me Know You're Mine" and "Trouble in Mind," the "Mystery Train" imitation "The Long Black Train," and the ballad "Heavenly." Twitty was also one of the few sub-Elvis singers equally capable of summoning decent rockabilly-pop and slow deep-voiced ballads. It's not all pop/rock, either, with his incipient country-pop leanings coming to the fore on some early-'60s tracks like "What a Dream" and "Looking Back" (which sound a little like Brenda Lee's productions of the era), "A Man Alone" and "She Ain't No Angel" (both not far in mood from Roy Orbison's harder-rocking early-'60s cuts), and the melodramatic "The Flame." He didn't cultivate as strong an identity as any of his reference points, Elvis and otherwise, and some of these tunes are generic if spiritedly performed late-'50s/early-'60s period pieces, but overall it's a quite worthy anthology. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Conway Twitty

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929524620
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)