Ole Rasmussen Sleepy Eyed John

Sleepy Eyed John
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $22.49
SUPER SAVINGS: $15.69 Limited Time Only
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $9.30 (37% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  VWDF
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 1, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Bear Family

Entertainment Reviews:

No Depression - 1-2/00, p.79
"...the group's sound and personality become more distinct with each successive spin....teenage steel guitarist William Tonneson and the twin fiddles of Rocky Stone and Tex Atchison...add a lovely starry-night gloss to the proceedings..."
Country Music People (1/00, pp.34-6) - 4.5 out of 5 - "...the musicianship is always exemplary, led by a treble attack of sumptuous steel guitar...entertaining Tommy Duncan-esque vocals and a strong fiddle section....a 'must-buy' for all lovers of western swing."


  • 1.Somewhere in San Antone
  • 2.Sleepy Eyed John
  • 3.Rockaway
  • 4.I'm Still Bettin' on Love
  • 5.Spanish Polka
  • 6.We're Gonna Go Fishin' (Next Saturday Night)
  • 7.It Must Be Love
  • 8.My Conscience Is Clear
  • 9.Gonna See My Sunday Baby Saturday Night
  • 10.Which-A-Way Will You Go
  • 11.Straighten Out Your Troubles (With the Lord)
  • 12.The Sandhills of Nebraska
  • 13.You Were My Dream Last Night
  • 14.Country Weddin' Day
  • 15.Ramblin' Blues
  • 16.Half a Love Affair
  • 17.In the Mood
  • 18.Old Love of Yesterday
  • 19.Everybody Thinks You're an Angel
  • 20.Something from Heaven
  • 21.Did the Man in the Moon Come from Texas?
  • 22.C Jam Blues
  • 23.New Star Rag
  • 24.Tuxedo Junction
  • 25.Charleston Alley
  • 26.Careful Now
  • 27.Jersey Bounce
  • 28.My Mary

Product Description:

Contains 28 tracks.
Personnel: Teddy K. Wilds (vocals); Earl E. Finley Jr. (guitar); John "Woody" Applewhite, Tex Atchison (fiddle); Jerry Carter (accordion); Edward Austin Strode (piano).
Liner Note Author: Kevin Coffey.
Recording information: Capitol Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA (05/03/1950/02/25/1952).
Illustrator: Steve Hathaway.
Photographer: Steve Hathaway.
Bob Wills imitator Ole Rasmussen had a few years of success with the Nebraska Cornhuskers in the early '50s, the last years of Western swing's broad popularity. Although Rasmussen's worship of Wills' sound can be simply overbearing, his music is attractive today because of the songwriting contributions of fiddler Tex Atchison, especially the classic tongue-twister "Sleepy Eyed John" and "Which-A-Way Will You Go." After Atchison's departure in 1951 the best songs are collaborations between Rasmussen and various band members. Of these, "You Were My Dream Last Night" is pretty great, but otherwise the collection is thoroughly average, with the excellent sound quality being an unexpected bonus. ~ Jim Smith
Bear Family Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ole Rasmussen

Product Info

  • UPC: 4000127162557
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)