Bonnie Owens Queen of the Coast (4-CD)

Queen of the Coast (4-CD)
3 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $96.15
List Price: $149.99
You Save: $53.84 (36% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  VWD3
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Bear Family

Entertainment Reviews:

No Depression - p.62
"Bonnie surprises you with the in-your-face lies of 'Number One Heel,' and you can see the power she often brought to country classics during these years, and even more so, arguably, in the years beyond."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.90
5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]here is a fine body of solo work here....Bonnie Owens had the perfect voice for duets. You can hear it even when she is double-tracking herself."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.A Dear John Letter (; Fuzzy Owen)
  • 2.Wonderful Word (; Fuzzy Owen)
  • 3.I Traded My Heart For His Gold
  • 4.Take Me
  • 5.Just A Love For Someone To Steal
  • 6.No Tomorrow (; Fuzzy Owen)
  • 7.Father (The Kern County Sweethearts)
  • 8.Please Don't Take Him From Me (The Kern County Sweethearts)
  • 9.That Little Boy of Mine
  • 10.Wait A Little Longer, Please Jesus
  • 11.Looking Back To See (; Fuzzy Owen)
  • 12.Just For The Children's Sake
  • 13.This Other
  • 14.Missing On A Mountain (; Tommy Dee)
  • 15.Why Don't Daddy Live Here Anymore
  • 16.Waggin' Tongues
  • 17.Stop The World (and Let Me Off)
  • 18.Don't Take Advantage of Me
  • 19.Lie A Little
  • 20.I'll Try Again Tomorrow
  • 21.The Longer You Wait
  • 22.You Don't Have Far To Go
  • 23.Number One Heel
  • 24.Beggin' To You
  • 25.I Want To Be A Cowboy's Sweetheart
  • 26.Pins and Needles

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Slowly But Surely (; Merle Haggard)
  • 2.Just Between The Two of Us (; Merle Haggard)
  • 3.So Much For Me, So Much For You (; Merle Haggard)
  • 4.A House Without Love Is Not A Home (; Merle Haggard)
  • 5.I Want To Live Again (; Merle Haggard)
  • 6.Number One Heel
  • 7.Pins and Needles
  • 8.Lie A Little
  • 9.Stranger In My Arms (; Merle Haggard)
  • 10.Souvenirs
  • 11.Merry Go Round of Love
  • 12.She Don't Deserve You
  • 13.Excuse Me For Living
  • 14.I'll Take A Chance (; Merle Haggard)
  • 15.Our Hearts Are Holding Hands (; Merle Haggard)
  • 16.Too Used To Being With You (; Merle Haggard)
  • 17.That Makes Two of Us (; Merle Haggard)
  • 18.Forever and Ever (; Merle Haggard)
  • 19.Wait A Little Longer, Please Jesus (; Merle Haggard)
  • 20.Living On Your Love
  • 21.What's It Gonna Cost Me
  • 22.You Don't Even Try
  • 23.Someone Else You've Known
  • 24.Whatever Happened To Me
  • 25.Just For The Children's Sake
  • 26.Consider The Children
  • 27.I Know He Loves Me
  • 28.The Best Part of Me

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Will You Want Me Just As Much
  • 2.Any Part of You
  • 3.I Won't Go Lookin' For You
  • 4.Gone Crazy
  • 5.The Best Part of Me
  • 6.All of Me Belongs To You
  • 7.If You Really Want Me To
  • 8.Adios, Farewell Goodbye, Good Luck, So Long
  • 9.If You Really Want Me To
  • 10.Everything That's Fastened Down Is Comin' Loose
  • 11.I'd Be More of A Woman
  • 12.I Wish I Felt This Way At Home
  • 13.Hangin' On
  • 14.The Back of My Hand
  • 15.I Let A Stranger Buy The Wine
  • 16.Number 82
  • 17.Don't Tell Me
  • 18.Just One Time
  • 19.Somewhere Between
  • 20.Wabash Cannon Ball
  • 21.Tonight I'll Throw A Party

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Yes, I Love You Only
  • 2.How Can Our Cheatin' Be Wrong'
  • 3.When Billy Comes Home To Arkansas
  • 4.I'll Look Over You
  • 5.I'll Always Be Glad To Take You Back
  • 6.I Couldn't Keep From Cryin'
  • 7.Lead Me On
  • 8.Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep Alone
  • 9.I'll Kiss My Wedding Ring Goodbye
  • 10.That Little Boy of Mine
  • 11.Jealous Heart
  • 12.I Don't Care If Tomorrow Never Comes
  • 13.How Many
  • 14.What Else Can I Do
  • 15.It Don't Take Much To Make Me Cry
  • 16.My Hi - Fi To Cry
  • 17.Philadelphia Lawyer
  • 18.Where Could I Go But To The Lord
  • 19.What A Friend We Have In Jesus
  • 20.Medals For Mothers
  • 21.I'll Fly Away
  • 22.Wait A Little Longer, Please Jesus
  • 23.Gathering Flowers for The Masters Bouquet
  • 24.Where We'll Never Grow Old
  • 25.Where The Soul Never Dies
  • 26.I Saw The Light
  • 27.Farther Along
  • 28.Faded Love

Product Description:

Personnel: Bonnie Owens (vocals); Kern County Sweethearts (vocals); James Burton (guitar, dobro); Gordon Terry (guitar, fiddle); Glenn Ross Campbell , Hollis R. "Red Lane" DeLaughter, Merle Haggard, Phil Baugh, Billy Strange (guitar); Norman D. Hamlett (steel guitar); Jelly Sanders (fiddle); George French, Jr., Glen D. Hardin (piano); Dennis Hromek, Jerry Ward, Leon Chase Copeland (electric bass); Helen "Peaches" Price, John Guerin, Ronnie Tutt (drums).
Audio Mixer: Jay Ranellucci.
Recording information: Bakersfield, CA (??/??/1953-08/30/1971); Capitol Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA (??/??/1953-08/30/1971); HR Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA (??/??/1953-08/30/1971); Nashville, TN (??/??/1953-08/30/1971); Radio Recorders, Hollywood, CA (??/??/1953-08/30/1971); Tally Studio, Bakersfield, CA (??/??/1953-08/30/1971); United Recording Corporation Of Nevada, Las Vegas, NV (??/??/1953-08/30/1971).
Author: Merle Haggard.
Illustrators: Dave Sax; Jurgen Koop; R.A. Andreas; Mohns Mohnssen.
Introduction by: Merle Haggard.
Photographers: Dave Sax; Jurgen Koop; R.A. Andreas; Mohns Mohnssen.
This well-assembled four-CD box set compiles some of the best moments of the career of Bonnie Owens, the artist to be forever known as the woman who married (and divorced) both Buck Owens and Merle Haggard. The female voice of the Bakersfield sound and a true country music archetype, Owens provided a forthright counterpoint to the rollicking antics of the music's male stars with her performances of such songs as "Too Used to Being With You," "I Wish I Felt This Way at Home," and Haggard's "You Don't Have Very Far to Go."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Bonnie Owens

Product Info

  • UPC: 4000127161789
  • Shipping Weight: 2/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)