David Allan Coe The Mysterious Rhinestone Cowboy / Once Upon a Time

The Mysterious Rhinestone Cowboy / Once Upon a
6 ratings
Only 5 copies left
Price: $22.49
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $2.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  VW7G
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.A Sad Country Song
  • 2.Crazy Mary
  • 3.River
  • 4.The 33rd of August
  • 5.Bossier City
  • 6.Atlanta Song
  • 7.Old Man Tell Me
  • 8.Desperados Waiting For the Train
  • 9.I Still Sing the Old Songs
  • 10.The Old Grey Goose Is Dead
  • 11.Would You Lay With Me (In a Field of Stone)
  • 12.Jody Like a Melody
  • 13.Loneliness in Ruby's Eyes
  • 14.Would You Be My Lady
  • 15.Sweet Vibrations (Some Folks Call It Love)
  • 16.Another Pretty Country Song
  • 17.Piece of Wood and Steel
  • 18.Fraulein
  • 19.Shine It On
  • 20.You Never Even Called Me by My Name

Product Description:

Producer: Ron Bledsoe.
Reissue producer: Richard Weize.
Recorded at Columbia Studios & Pete's Place, Nashville, Tennessee. Includes liner notes by Bob Allen.
David Allan Coe's first two albums for Columbia, THE MYSTERIOUS RHINESTONE COWBOY and ONCE UPON A RHYME, are presented here on one disc, making for a solid 20-track set that finds the hard-living country eccentric bidding for a wider audience without sacrificing any of his outlaw credibility. Although Coe's rough-and-tumble reputation hangs over his entire catalogue, many of these songs are remarkably gentle and melancholy, recasting a highly controversial performer as a guy who, at heart, just wants to sing simple country tunes (see "A Sad Country Song," "I Still Sing the Old Songs," and "Another Pretty Country Song"). This collection also features Coe taking on his own poignant "Would You Lay with Me (In a Field of Stone)," originally a hit for Tanya Tucker, and the witty, honky-tonk mainstay "You Never Even Called Me By My Name." For those looking to delve into Coe's early career, this is the ideal first stop.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for David Allan Coe

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 105,295
  • UPC: 4000127157065
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)