The Mavericks Live in Austin Texas

Live in Austin Texas
11 ratings
Price: $9.88
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  EFSC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 28, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Sanctuary Records


  • 1.Dance the Night Away
  • 2.Because of You
  • 3.Think of Me (When You're Lonely)
  • 4.Things You Said to Me
  • 5.Here Comes the Rain
  • 6.San Jose
  • 7.I Want to Know
  • 8.What a Crying Shame
  • 9.There Goes My Heart
  • 10.Shine Your Light
  • 11.Save a Prayer
  • 12.Siboney
  • 13.I Said I Love You
  • 14.Every Little Thing About You
  • 15.Volver Volver
  • 16.All You Ever Do Is Bring Me Down

Product Description:

Personnel: Raul Malo (vocals, guitar); Robert Reynolds (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bass instrument, background vocals); Robert Chevrier (acoustic guitar, piano, organ, background vocals); Eddie Perez, Eddie Perez (electric guitar, background vocals); Jeff Coffin (tenor saxophone); Steve Patrick , Matt Nygren (trumpet); Nichol Thompson (trombone); Jerry Dale McFadden (piano, organ, background vocals); Alberto Salas (piano, percussion); Paul Deakin (vibraphone, drums); David Carroll (double bass, upright bass); Tom Lewis (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixer: Mike Poole.
Recording information: Stubbs Bar-B-Q, Austin, TX (06/02/2004).
Photographers: Dan Russo; Traci Goudie; Ray Lewis.
Arrangers: Raul Malo; Matt Nygren.
The Mavericks are talented enough to do any number of things with their music, which has been just a bit problematic for them since their breakthrough with 1994's What a Crying Shame, as they shuffle back and forth between country, sophisticated pop, and Latin accents in the studio without sounding as if they've found a permanent home with any of them. But they can play pretty much anything they set their minds to and make it work, and Raul Malo's glorious pipes are always a joy to hear, and on this live album their ambitious eclecticism works strongly in their favor. Live in Austin Texas finds an augmented version of the Mavericks (complete with horn section) pulling out all the stops for a vocally enthusiastic audience, and here they jump from one style to another with a surefooted abandon, sounding confident and enthusiastic at every turn. Malo is front and center on this performances, as well he should be, but his partners Robert Reynolds (on bass and guitar), Paul Deakin (drums and percussion), and Eddie Perez (guitars) give the singer as good as they get, and while this set list isn't exactly full of surprises, one spin reveals these guys are born showmen who approach each song with equal shares of passion and chops. Malo in particular sounds like he's having one hell of a good time at this show, and the audience is with him all the way -- and from the sound of this show, you sure can't blame 'em. Wherever they choose to go, the truly great Mavericks have talent as wide as their vision, and Live in Austin Texas captures them firing on all cylinders. If you can't find something on this album to groove to, maybe you ought not to bother with this whole music thing in the first place. ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Mavericks

Product Info

  • UPC: 060768471528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)