Yo-Yo Ma - Inspired by Bach, Volume 1: The Music Garden (Suite No. 1) & The Sound of The Carceri (Suite No. 2)

Starring: Yo-Yo Ma Director: Kevin McMahon & Francois Girard
Yo-Yo Ma - Inspired by Bach, Volume 1: The Music
10% OFF
Rating 3.9
9 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Item:  SNY 89297D
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

DVD Features:

  • Rated: Not Rated
  • Run Time: 2 hours, 6 minutes
  • Video: Color
  • Encoding: Region 1 (USA & Canada)
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Sony
  • Packaging: Keep Case
  • Aspect Ratio: Full Frame - 1.33
  • Audio:
    • PCM Stereo - English
  • Additional Release Material:
    • Bonus Trailer
    • Production Interviews: Director
  • Text/Photo Galleries:
    • Discographies
    • Production Notes
    • Stills/Photos
    • Biographies
  • DVD-ROM Features:
    • Weblinks

Performers, Cast and Crew:

Directed by &

Product Description:

The first two installments in the six-part YO-YO MA INSPIRED BY BACH series are two very different, totally innovative works. THE MUSIC GARDEN is a touching meeting of the journey narrative and classical music. Director Kevin McMahon films internationally renowned cellist Yo-Yo Ma as he and brilliant landscape gardener Julie Moir Messervy travel America's East Coast in search of a garden "inspired by Bach." This takes place to the soundtrack of Yo-Yo Ma playing Bach's "Suite No.1 for Unaccompanied Cello." Part Two, THE SOUND OF CARCERI, features Bach's "Suite No. 2 for Unaccompanied Cello." Experimental director Francois Girard (who undertook another classical subject for his acclaimed 32 SHORT FILMS ABOUT GLENN GOULD) creates a visually stunning world inspired by the imaginative, dreamlike prison drawings of 1700's Italian architect Piranesi. Meant to match the sounds of the Suite, this short music-art film received a 1998 Emmy Award for Outstanding Special Visual Effects.

Plot Keywords:

Classical Music | Concert | Documentary | Music Video

Movie Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.9
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Movie Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Product Info:

  • UPC: 696998929791
  • Shipping Weight: 0.29/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item