Evgeny Kissin Scriabin Medtner Stravinsky Piano Works

Rating 4.6
5 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Item:  RCA 65389
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: RCA


  • Buy for $0.991.Five Preludes, Op. 15; No. 1 - Andante
  • Buy for $0.992.Five Preludes, Op. 15; No. 2 - Vivo
  • Buy for $0.993.Five Preludes, Op. 15; No. 3 - Allegro Assai
  • Buy for $0.994.Five Preludes, Op. 15; No. 4 - Andantino
  • Buy for $0.995.Five Preludes, Op. 15; No. 5 - Andante
  • Buy for $0.996.Sonata No. 3 in F - Sharp Minor, Op. 23; Dramatico
  • Buy for $0.997.Sonata No. 3 in F - Sharp Minor, Op. 23; Allegretto
  • Buy for $0.998.Sonata No. 3 in F - Sharp Minor, Op. 23; Andante
  • Buy for $0.999.Sonata No. 3 in F - Sharp Minor, Op. 23; Presto con fuoco
  • 10.Sonata - Reminiscenza in A Minor, Op. 38 No. 1
  • Buy for $0.9911.Three Movements from Petrouchka; No. 1 - Danse russe
  • Buy for $0.9912.Three Movements from Petrouchka; No. 2 - Chez Petrouchka
  • Buy for $0.9913.Three Movements from Petrouchka; No. 3 - La semaine grasse

Product Description:

On this record, the playing's the thing. A lesser pianist could hardly hold the listener's interest in these sonatas by Scriabin (who had messianic delusions) and Medtner (who never found much recognition outside Russia), or meet the Herculean demands of the Stravinsky pieces. Scriabin's Preludes are charming, poetic, dreamy miniatures of contrasting tempo and character; the Sonata's corner movements are dramatic and fiery, the second surges, the third is lyrical and atmospheric. Scriabin attached an ambitious program, but the music speaks for itself, although in a very idiosyncratic language. Medtner's Sonata, composed when he was about to leave Russia, is romantically tuneful, melancholy and ruminative, with a feeling of nostalgia and perhaps anticipated homesickness. Stravinsky's transcription of the Petrouchka excerpts, written for Arthur Rubinstein, are among the most hair-raising bravura pieces in the repertoire. It is hard to believe that ten fingers can negotiate these torrents of notes, clusters of chords, leaps and runs. Kissin's virtuosity is not only spectacular but seems entirely effortless; his right hand literally does not know what his left hand is doing as they simultaneously produce different rhythms, articulation, and dynamics. Perhaps even more remarkable are his sense of poise and balance, his emotional range, his ability to change mood and character instantly. His tone is invariably beautiful; his control of volume, touch, color, and inflection can give it a gossamer delicacy and a radiant shimmer; even at its most forceful and percussive, it never sounds harsh. --Edith Eisler

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Evgeny Kissin

Product Info:

  • UPC: 828766538922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday - Friday: 7am-10pm, Saturday: 9am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)