Beethoven, Mendelssohn: Violin Concertos

Rating 4.7
25 ratings
List Price: $7.98
You Save: 80¢ (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  RCA 68980
Amazon sells this CD for $10.18, buying at saves you 29%
This is the price to buy directly from or its featured FBA seller. Prices change often, this price was last checked on October 24, 2014. Amazon is a registered trademark of, Inc.

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: RCA


  • 1.Concerto In D, Op. 61: Allegro, ma non troppo
  • Buy for $0.992.Concerto In D, Op. 61: Larghetto
  • Buy for $0.993.Concerto In D, Op. 61: Rondo: Allegro
  • 4.Concerto In E Minor, Op. 64: Allegro molto appassionato
  • Buy for $0.995.Concerto In E Minor, Op. 64: Andante
  • Buy for $0.996.Concerto In E Minor, Op. 64: Allegretto non troppo; Allegro molto vivace

Product Description:

RCA has coupled, recoupled, and re-recoupled their Heifetz recordings in just about every conceivable incarnation, making it very difficult and confusing for the collector to purchase the best of them in a simple and straightforward way. This "Living Stereo" reissue, however, really does offer the best sound so far, and the performances are second to none. Heifetz's Mendelssohn has always led the field: for lightness, athleticism, grace, and virtuosity, it's unsurpassed. In a work that many violinists take for granted, Heifetz's high-powered approach really does remind us what great music this really is and how it responds to a violinist with a real sense of bravura. The coupling--a superb Beethoven concerto--provides a real antidote to so many modern performances that mistake slowness for depth. If any disc deserves to be called "essential," this one does. --David Hurwitz
RadioIO Offer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 25 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:


Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 66,195
  • UPC: 090266898022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item