Michael Tilson Thomas Ives: An American Journey

Ives: An American Journey
10% OFF
Rating 4.6
8 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $8.98
Your Price: $8.08
You Save: 90¢ (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  HRW6
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Amazon sells this CD for $12.11, buying at OLDIES.com saves you 33%
This is the price to buy directly from Amazon.com or its featured FBA seller. Prices change often, this price was last checked on April 27, 2016. Amazon is a registered trademark of Amazon.com, Inc.

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: RCA


  • Buy for $0.991.From The Steeples and The Mountains
  • Buy for $0.992.The Things Our Fathers Loved
  • Buy for $0.993.The Pond (Remembrance)
  • Buy for $0.994.Memories
  • Buy for $0.995.Charlie Rutlage
  • Buy for $0.996.The Circus Band
  • Buy for $0.997.The "St. Gaudens" In Boston Common
  • Buy for $0.998.Putnam's Camp
  • Buy for $0.999.The Housatonic At Stockbridge
  • Buy for $0.9910.In Flanders Fields
  • Buy for $0.9911.They Are There!
  • Buy for $0.9912.Tom Sails Away
  • Buy for $0.9913.Fugue From Symphony No. 4
  • Buy for $0.9914.Psalm 100
  • Buy for $0.9915.Serenity
  • Buy for $0.9916.General William Booth Enters Into Heaven
  • Buy for $0.9917.The Unanswered Question

Product Description:

Michael Tilson Thomas is an expert Ivesian. His 1970 recording debut was with Three Places in New England, still available from DG. Here, he redoes the work with the interpolation of a chorus singing the poem on which the last movement, "The Housatonic at Stockbridge," is based--unusual, not as effective as the orchestral version, but fascinating. Tilson Thomas cites Ives's desire for performers to creatively shape his music, and this disc vindicates his editorial liberties by making Ives's surprising music even more unpredictable. The choral contributions are fine, too, but baritone Thomas Hampson steals the show with seven songs that display his empathy with Ives's varied styles and the range of the composer's music, from cowboy songs to touching elegies. The way Hampson bellows a Brooklynese "Coytin" (for "Curtain") at the end of the first song of Memories is worth the price of purchase. Here's a disc to be entertained by, and moved as well. The recording was made at SFS concerts, and we're privileged to share the audience's experience. A must-have for Ivesians and the curious. --Dan Davis

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:


Product Info:

  • UPC: 090266370320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item