Lee Andrews & The Hearts For Collectors Only (3-CD)

For Collectors Only (3-CD)
8 ratings
SALE: $14.99
List Price: $29.97
You Save: $14.98 (50% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  COL 8827
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

The king of "Hearts" collection! Lee Andrews formed the band in 1952 (among its members were Thomas "Butch" Curry, Ted Weems, and Roy & Wendell Calhoun) and they achieved their greatest fame in the late '50s. You'll hear their biggest hits "Tear Drops" and "Try the Impossible" and "Long Lonely Nights"on this 3-CD collection which includes many demos and unreleased tracks.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Maybe You'll Be There (Rainbow / Riviera version)
  • Buy for $0.992.Baby Come Back
  • Buy for $0.993.White Cliffs Of Dover
  • Buy for $0.994.Much Too Much
  • Buy for $0.995.The Bells Of St. Mary
  • Buy for $0.996.Fairest
  • Buy for $0.997.Long Lonely Nights (Demo, Original Lyrics)
  • Buy for $0.998.It's Me (Demo)
  • Buy for $0.999.Sipping A Cup Of Coffee (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Merengue (Demo)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Lonely Room (Demo with "talking bridge")
  • Buy for $0.9912.Boom (Demo)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Bluebird Of Happiness
  • Buy for $0.9914.Show Me The Merengue
  • Buy for $0.9915.Just Suppose (Demo)
  • Buy for $0.9916.Dearest (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9917.Girl Around The Corner, The (Demo)
  • Buy for $0.9918.Long Lonely Nights (Demo #2)
  • Buy for $0.9919.Aunt Jenny (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9920.Lonely Room

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.I Miss My Baby (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.992.Leona
  • Buy for $0.993.Window Eyes (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.994.Try The Impossible (Demo)
  • Buy for $0.995.It's Me
  • Buy for $0.996.Just Suppose (Gotham Version)
  • Buy for $0.997.Why Do I (Demo)
  • Buy for $0.998.Strollin' Women (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.999.Abide By The Golden Rule (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Long Lonely Nights
  • Buy for $0.9911.Clock
  • Buy for $0.9912.Teardrops
  • Buy for $0.9913.Girl Around The Corner
  • Buy for $0.9914.Try The Impossible
  • Buy for $0.9915.Nobody's Home
  • Buy for $0.9916.Why Do I
  • Buy for $0.9917.Glad To Be Here
  • Buy for $0.9918.Maybe You'll Be There (U.A. Version)
  • Buy for $0.9919.All I Ask Is Love
  • Buy for $0.9920.Just Suppose (U.A. Version)
  • Buy for $0.9921.Boom

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • Buy for $0.991.I Wonder
  • Buy for $0.992.Baby Come Back (Casino Version)
  • Buy for $0.993.Together Again
  • Buy for $0.994.My Lonely Room
  • Buy for $0.995.I Miss You So
  • Buy for $0.996.I've Got A Right To Cry
  • Buy for $0.997.A Night Like Tonight
  • Buy for $0.998.You Gave To Me
  • Buy for $0.999.P.S. I Love You
  • Buy for $0.9910.I Cried
  • Buy for $0.9911.Cold Gray Dawn
  • Buy for $0.9912.All You Can Do
  • Buy for $0.9913.Island Of Love
  • Buy for $0.9914.Quiet As It's Kept
  • Buy for $0.9915.Oh My Love
  • Buy for $0.9916.Can't Do Without You
  • Buy for $0.9917.Never The Less
  • Buy for $0.9918.Your Love Gives Me Such A Thrill
  • Buy for $0.9919.I've Had It
  • Buy for $0.9920.Little Bird

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Marv Goldberg.
A meticulous, aptly-titled anthology of Lee Andrews and the Hearts' recordings, but if you're not knee-deep into them, one of their smaller collections will be easier on your Visa and should suffice. This is the whole kit and caboodle: 61-tracks of classic '50s doo wop, featuring previously unreleased songs, demos, and alternate versions, as well as every A- and B-side they released, from their debut "Maybe You'll Be There" on Rainbow Records (1954) to the beautiful "Island of Love" on Lost Nite Records (1968). The pioneering group influenced a slew of Philly vocal groups, including the original, pre-Teddy Pendergrass, Blue Notes and the Intruders. The Intruders redid the Hearts' most successful recording, "Teardrops," on their Save the Children album. For Collectors Only is a flowing gathering of smooth, classy doo wop at its best. ~ Andrew Hamilton
Collectables Records
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Parkway Music Lover: from wilkes-barre, pa. US -- December, 10, 2009

The one glariing omission to this set has always been that the parkway sides were left out of it. I am sure that I am not the only one thar remembers I'm Sorry Pillow.

Smooth Music Lover: from Houston, TX US -- January, 30, 2008

Lee Andrews & the Hearts were one of the smoothest and mellowest Doo Wop sounds of our time. They are simply a pleasure to listen to also.

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Lee Andrews & The Hearts

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 7,079
  • UPC: 090431882726
  • Shipping Weight: 0.42/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Oldies: Doowop Music Categories:

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)